Pecan Pie Bars

Now that fall has arrived I can pull out my list of things that I wanted to make last fall but never got to it and finally make them! Woohoo! I know that everyone else in my life is probably just as excited about this as I am because who doesn’t enjoy fall baked treats? Point.

It was a great day when I discovered that BF of BOOF, Brickwall, was not only a sweets lover but he also loved pecans.  The reason that this was so great is not because I love pecans (although I do), but because dad of BOOF, Papadukes, is a pecan junky.  Every holiday season his only request is for a pecan pie, which he will then proceed to eat the entire thing in 3 days max.  And don’t even get me started on Butter Pecan Ice cream…

However, it was a great thing to find out that the top two guys in my life both absolutely love any pecan dessert because that means I can make them both extremely happy in one fell swoop. Win. I had wanted to make these pecan pie bars when I first pinned them earlier in the year, but the timing never felt right.  Nevertheless with the recent turn to fall and all the beautiful leaves changing colors, not only am I in major apple and pumpkin mode but I am also finding myself really getting into Holiday mode.  Don’t judge me for this because you know that you are starting to feel the same.  Well, these bars are easy, delicious and a nice alternative to your standard pecan pie.  Pecan lovers and non-Pecan lovers in your life will be grateful.

Adapted from Just a Taste

Ingredients

Crust

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon salt

Topping/Filling

1 stick unsalted butter

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup light Caro Corn Syrup

2 tablespoons heavy cream

2 cups chopped pecans

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line a 9×13-inch pan with foil, leaving enough for a 2-inch overhang on all sides.

2.  Make the crust: In a stand mixer, cream together the butter and brown sugar until fluffy.

3.  Add in the flour and salt and mix until crumbly.

4.  Press the crust into the foil-lined pan and bake for 20 minutes until golden brown.

5.  Make the filling: While the crust is baking, in a saucepan over medium heat, combine the butter, brown sugar, honey, corn syrup and heavy cream stirring well.

6.  Simmer mixture for 1 minute, then stir in the chopped pecans.

7.  Remove the crust from the oven and immediately pour the pecan filling over the hot crust spreading it to cover the entire surface.

8.  Return the pan to the oven and bake an additional 20 minutes.

9.  Remove the pan and allow the bars to fully cool in the pan.

10.  Use the foil overhang to lift out the bars and transfer them to a cutting board.

11. Peel off the foil, slice into bars and serve.

12. Share and Enjoy!

Well my Pecan-Men both loved these little bars.  It’s like having pecan pie but not quite as rich and these are really great for easy serving if you are either bringing to a party or dividing as a gift.  Additionally, I have the oddest desire to throw some chocolate chips on top and melt them into these bars.  Just a desire though… :-)

Leave a Reply

