Creamy Asparagus Soup

I like soup. A lot.  As a vegetarian, soup is one of those things that you come to rely on as a staple of your meals.  Most restaurants offer some sort of veggie based soup and although many times they taste like crap, veggie soup warms the soul.  Additionally, when you poll a majority of people on their favorite soups, I think that you would find that more times than not, most individuals will default to Tomato Soup (Yes, for childhood!) or Broccoli Cheddar. Am I right or am I right?!?!!!!

Now, I never used to like asparagus.  I think that I may have mentioned this a long time ago.  However, I thought that I would remind you that I NEVER used to like asparagus (and brussel sprouts but that is a conversation for another day).  I was never the kid who had a problem eating her vegetables but for some reason, I had this thought in my mind from a young age that Asparagus were gross and they had cooties much like boys did, so I had to stay far far away from it.  I was plesantly surprised as I entered adulthood and tasted and started eating Asparagus that they were actually quite tasty.  They were not the green vegetable that hid under my bed and came out to get me in the middle of the night.  Rather, they were long stalks of deliciousness with these little tiny leaves at the end, and the most beautiful thing about them was that you could do SO much with them.

I have since learned how to put them in pasta, on pizza, in a quiche (coming soon), on the grill (also coming soon) and to do so many delicious things with them.  After falling in love with the Asparagus soup at Hook way back when, I thought it was my time to not re-create Hook’s amazing soup but rather just dabble at my own version of Creamy Asparagus Soup.

Adapted from Good Housekeeping

Ingredients

1 tablespoon butter

1 small onion, chopped

1 1/2 pound of asparagus, trimmed and chopped (doesn’t need to be too thin because its going in the food processor)

1 3/4 cup of veggie broth

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

1 cup water

1/4 cup heavy cream
Directions

1) In a large 4-quart saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.

2) Add onion and saute until lightly golden (8-10 minutes).

3) Add asparagus and cook stirring every 5 minutes or so.

4) Add broth, salt, pepper and water and bring to a boil over high heat

5) Reduce heat to low and simmer until asparagus is nice and tender (8-10 minutes) and then remove from ehat.

6) Add mixture to food processor in portions and puree until super smooth.  Pour into a large bowl.  Continue to add and pulse until all of the mixture is pureed.  Pour into large bowl.

7) Once all the mixture is pureed, transfer the soup from the large bowl back into the sauce pan over low heat.

8) Add cream to asparagus puree and mix well.  You can add more cream as needed.  Also, and salt and pepper to taste.

9) Share and Enjoy!

 

This asparagus soup is super delicious, super easy and super healthy (only about 125 calories per serving!).  This summer, I plan to make a chilled version of this soup with some additions but I don’t want to ruin the surprise.  Also, this soup keeps very well (as do most soups) and I think it is a great starter or side to any winter meal.  All in all, asparagus is the bomb even if it does make your pee smell funny (yeah, I said it.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

