Black and White Cookies

Fun things always revolve around food. Birthdays. Power lunch. Brunch. Holidays. It even got its own special holiday with Thanksgiving.

Going with that theme, our class decided to have a “cultural potluck” in which everyone was to bring some sort of cuisine from either their cultural background or where they hail from in the US of A.

I had a lot of issues with this.  Being from NY, it’s not like I can just whip up some Brick Oven Pizza or homemade bagels.  I had no idea what I was going to make and was getting super stressed about it.  I had decided on cheesecake but on the night before the cultural potluck, I was too lazy to go to the store and cheesecake has to be refrigerated overnight…so there was a lot of fail going on.  Time was ticking and I felt like I was on Top Chef and in an elimination challenge.  I was desperate and I knew that I couldn’t show up to the potluck empty handed! I did what most of us do when we don’t know the answer to a question, nope I didn’t go to the library but I googled it. Maybe that is illegal in some sort of New Yorker code but I did it and I am not ashamed.

Upon my semi-fruitful search results, I was met with Black and White Cookies.  Hmm. That sounded interesting.  I did some more research onto them (WIKI, obviously) and found out that they actually originated in upstate in NY (where I am from!!!), but eventually made their way down to the City and became the unofficial cookie of NY.  I then needed to find out how to make these delicious pieces of NY and consulted my favorite baker, Joy and she had a wonderful and simple recipe for me to use.

Ingredients

For the Cookies

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup well-shaken

buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2/3 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large egg

For Vanilla Glaze

2 cups powde

red sugar

1 Teaspoon light corn syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For Chocolate Glaze

4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

3 Tablespoons butter

1 Tablespoon light corn syrup

Directions

To make the cookies-

1) Preheat oven to 350°F.

2) Whisk together dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.

3) In a cup, stir together buttermilk and vanilla.

4) Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl with your electric mixer until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Then add eggs, beating until combined well.

5) Mix in flour mixture and buttermilk mixture alternately in batches at low speed beginning and ending with flour mixture until smooth.

6) Spoon 1/4 cups of batter about 2 inches apart onto a buttered large baking sheet. Bake in middle of oven until tops are puffed and pale golden, and cookies spring back when touched, 15 to 17 minutes.

7) Transfer with a metal spatula to a rack and chill (to cool quickly), about 5 minutes.

To make the glazes-

1) In a bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 tablespoon of corn syrup and 2 tablespoons hot water, until smooth.

That’s your vanilla glaze!!!

1) In a separate bowl, melt the butter and the chocolate in a microwave for about 1 minute.

2) Add the corn syrup and stir until smooth. That’s your chocolate glaze!!!

What to do now?!?!

1) Once the cookies are cooled, face them all bottom side up of a clean surface.

2) Spread half of the cookie with vanilla glaze and the other half with chocolate glaze.  At first, I used a spatula and that was too hard.  Just use a knife 🙂

3) Refrigerate for 20 minutes to set.

4) Share and Enjoy!

There were numerous delicious things at cultural potluck and I only had a few cookies left behind, so I would say this recipe was a delicious success.

Leave a Reply

