Tres Leches Cake

Now, on my Cinco De Mayo baking rampage, I also wanted to make something a little more traditional.  I had never made anything traditional for Cinco de Mayo but I heard that Tres Leches cake was pretty traditional, so I decided that I would go for it.

Adapted from Allrecipes

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup white sugar

5 eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups whole milk

1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk

1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

1 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour one 9×13 inch baking pan.

2) Sift flour and baking powder together and set aside.

3) Cream butter or margarine and the 1 cup sugar together until fluffy.

4) Add eggs and the 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract; beat well.

5) Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture 2 tablespoons at a time; mix until well blended. Pour batter into prepared pan.

6) Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes (Fork cake several times with a fork).

7) Combine the whole milk, condensed milk, and evaporated milk together. Pour over the top of the cooled cake.

8) Whip whipping cream, the remaining 1 cup of the sugar, and the remaining 1 teaspoon vanilla together until thick.

9) Spread over the top of cake. REFRIGERATE REFRIGERATE REFRIGERATE!

10) Share and Enjoy!

Like I said, I had never made this before but I tasted it and liked it! Also, some of my buds who have had Tres Leches Cake before tasted it and  enjoyed it too (or so they told me).  I actually topped it with Cinnamon but apparently you are supposed to top it with cocoa powder…oops?  Nevertheless, it was nice and tasty.  I would probably wait until Cinco De Mayo to make it again but it is definitely a nice seasonal treat.

Leave a Reply

