Crumb Bakery and Cafe

More from the wonderful place I like to call home, the Hudson Valley.

Crumb Bakery and Cafe (not to be confused with the cupcake franchise, Crumbs Bake shop), is probably one of the newest additions to the rejuvenated Main Street of Beacon NY.  I’ve passed this establishment many a time on my way to Bank Square Coffee House (a review to come one of these days), and on a rainy summer day, I thought I would journey hear for a quiet lunch and maybe a sweet snack to follow.

Crumb has a very modern and sleek interior which is is common in Beacon but also the otherside to the Hipster coin that is also very prominent.  It features some metal tables with lime green metal chairs, as well as some high hardwood tables looking out the full wall-size windows onto the street.  There is a decent amount of seating, but if they were to get a decent crowd, you would be hard-pressed to find a good spot.  They feature both a breakfast and lunch menu with some standard items and then a few very inventive items.  For example, on their breakfast menu, they feature a mozarrella and pesto wrap which is filled with eggs, fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, and pesto. YUM.  Additionally for lunch, they also have a beef and brie sandwich which is filled with hot roast beef, caramelized onions, roasted red peppers, spinach, Brie cheese, and Dijon mayo.  I think all of my non-veg fans can definitely appreciate the deliciousness of that sandwich.

 

For lunch, I ordered the Fresca Wrap which had white bean hummus, cucumber, roasted red peppers, feta, greens, walnuts and a citrus vinaigrette.  I love hummus of all sorts but I had never had a white bean hummus before and I absolutely loved the flavor.  Additionally, all of the components of the wrap just worked perfectly together with a nice crunch from the walnuts to acidity of the vinaigrette.  I could not have put together a better wrap myself.

I also had their homemade lemonade which was perfect in flavor with the right amount of balance between the tart and sweet.

Oddly enough, I did not get anything from the bakery on that particular day, but I have stopped in for a cookie before and was met with good ingredients and a moistness…which is really all you need for a good cookie.

All in all, Crumb is a really great stop for a nice quick breakfast or lunch date as well as a to-go baked treat.  Oh and the staff is super nice and attentive.

Overall Grade: B+

Leave a Reply

