Eggplant, Squash and Tomato Bake

I have a little collection of cookbooks.  I rarely use my collection of cookbooks.  It is not because I do not like these cookbooks because I really do love them…I would not have purchased them if I did not.  However, I have realized that I very very very rarely use these cookbooks and rather rely on the internet.  Therefore, I have recently made a commitment to myself to cook a recipe from one of my cookbooks at least once a week.  I think this is feasible, so we shall see how this ends up.

Oh and this personal goal is beginning now (September 8), not when I actually made this back in August.

I found that the recipes in these cookbooks always look quite delectable and usually taste as good as they look.  This was also the case for this Eggplant and Tomato bake that I stumbled upon.

Adapted from: The Essential Vegetarian Cookbook

Ingredients

1 large eggplant

1 small squash

1/4 cup olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 cup cooking white wine

1 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes (I would also try using TJ’s fire roasted, if you want a bit of a kick)

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 teaspoon red chilli flakes

1/2 cup raisins

2 cups uncooked pasta (I used penne)

Directions

0) Boil and cook pasta according to directions

1) Preheat oven to 210 degrees

2) Cut eggplant into 2 cm rounds and cut squash lengthwise.

3) Place on a tray and sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Set aside for about 15 minutes.

4) Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large pan.

5) Cook the onions over medium heat for about 5 minutes until softened.

6) Add the cumin and stir for one minute and then add the white wine.

7) Bring to a boiland reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes or until the mixture has reduced by more than half.

8) Add the diced tomatoes, bring to boil and reduce the heat and cook for 8-10 minutes and add the garlic, red pepper flakes and raisins at that time.

9) Simmer for 5 minutes and remove from heat.

10) In another frying pan, add the remaining oil and fry the eggplant and squash silces over medium heat for about 3-4 minutes.

11) Drain the excess moisture from the squash and eggplant.

12) Layer the eggplant/squash and tomato mixture in a baking dish.  Be sure to finish with a layer eggplant/squash. Top with parmesan.

13) Bake for about 30 minutes. Serve over pasta.

14) Share and Enjoy!

I was pleasantly surprised with how well this turned out because the original recipe called for currants which in my definition is essentially a raisin.  The flavors came together so perfectly highlighted by the spiciness of the red pepper flakes and the sweetness of the raisins.  Although it seems to be a little time consuming, which it is, the directions are very simple and it is definitely worth the time.  This is a dish that I would make over and over again because it is great to feed one person for a few days or for a get together with some friends and family.

 

Leave a Reply

