Banana Apricot Muffins

These muffins were pretty good.  This was one of my adventures when I finally decided to use one of my many cookbooks in my kitchen.  If done again, I would make some slight adjustments just to give the muffins a more moist consistency.  It is a baking pet peeve of mine when muffins are too hard and are not moist and easily chewy without having to microwave them.  Therefore, despite being a fan of the idea of these muffins, I would potentially add a 1/2 cup of unsweetened apple sauce to help moisten them up.  I also might add some sort of crunch to these muffins…just to mix up the texture. You are probably like…well, did you actually like these muffins? Yes, yes I did but there is always room for improvement…right? Right.

Adapted from 1 mix, 100 Muffins

Ingredients

Oil/Melted Butter (to grease muffin pan)

2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup finely chopped dried apricots

2 bananas (overly ripe)

2/3 cup milk

2 large eggs

6 tablespoons of vegetable oil/sunflower oil or unsalted butter (melted and cooled)

Directions

1) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F

2) Grease a 12-cup muffin pan (or you can line them…if you so choose)

3) Sift together dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, salt into a large bowl.

4) Stir in dried apricots and sugar into the dry ingredients.

5) In a stand mixer, mash the bananas, add milk and mix well until it resembles a puree.

6) Beat the eggs, into the wet ingredients. Slowly add the dry ingredients while the mixer is on a low speed.  Be gentle because you really do not want to over beat the mix.

7) Spoon the batter into the muffin tin.

8) Bake for about 17-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. The tops should be slightly browned.

9) Let the muffins cool. Yeah, make sure you do that.

10) Share and Enjoy!

As I said, I think these could have been a little bit more moist (an easy fix), but I would have never thought to combine apricot and banana before…but it works…well. Very well.

 

P.S. The reason why this post is late/I haven’t posted in a while is because I broke my USB cord to my external hard drive.  Issues. Not to worry, a new one has been ordered, so pictures will be posted soon.

Leave a Reply

