Brown Rice Tart with Tomato and Feta

The same night I made the curried carrot and apple soup, I had only intended to make it as an appetizer.  I have all of this brown rice in my apartment, so I thought that I should start eating/using it in my food adventures.  I looked up some recipes that utilize brown rice in my various cookbooks, and came upon this little tart that looked easy, scrumptious and would make a nice pairing to my soup.  I also think that this tart could double as a breakfast item because the filling is an egg base, but whatever meal you choose to have it for…it is sure to be tasty.

Adapted from: Vegetarian Cooking: A Common Sense Guide

Ingredients

Crust

1 cup brown rice

2/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 egg, slightly beaten

Filling

4 roma tomatoes, halved

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/3 cup feta

3 eggs

1/4 cup milk

2 tablespoons of basil

Directions

1) Cook rice according to directions.  Drain and let cool.

2) Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

3) Place tomatoes on a non-stick baking tray, with the cut side up topped with garlic, olive oil and a little salt and pepper.

4) Bake tomatoes for about 30 minutes and then re8move from ovens to cool.

5) Place cooled rice, shredded cheddar cheese, egg in a bowl and mix well together.

6) Spread the mixture along the sides and base of a tart/pie/quiche dish and bake for 15 minutes.

7) Remove dish from oven and set aside.

8) Reduce the oven to 250 degrees and arrange the tomatoes/garlic over the crust.

9) Top tomatoes and crust with feta and basil.

10) In a bowl, mix together eggs and milk and pour it over the tomatoes onto the crust.

11) Bake for 1 hour/when the filling is set.

12) Share and Enjoy hot or cold!

This was easy and good…and although it takes a while for all of the components to cook…it is definitely worth it because I pretty much ate  this for the whole entire following week. On a second make, I think I might add something with a little bit more texture and spice, but it was still really good and tasty.

Leave a Reply

