Pumpkin and Rosemary Scones

Ok. I am sorry. I realized that this is literally pumpkin overload.  You’re probably thinking, “Karri has really taken this pumpkin thing seriously this fall and it may be time for an intervention”. You might be right. It might be time for an intervention…right after I tell you about these scones…and then I tell you about some soup in a couple of days.  I promise that I will stop making pumpkin the center of my diet. Promise…but not pinky promise.  That, I can not do.

Adapted from: Vegetarian Cooking: A Common Sense Guide

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups flour

3 teaspoons of baking soda

2 tablespoons COLD unsalted butter, diced into small pieces

1 teaspoon of salt

1 cup pureed pumpkin (canned or fresh)

2 tablespoons of dried rosemary

1 tablespoon milk

1/8 cup sugar (I just eyeballed it)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

2. Line baking tray with parchment paper or aluminum foil

3. In a large bowl, sift together dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon.

4. Using your fingers, rub the pumpkin, sugar and the butter into the flour.

5. Once mixed, stir in the rosemary and bring mixture into a ball with a little milk.

6. Roll the ball out into a round about 1 1/2 inches thick.

7. Mark the scone into wedges (typically eight…but I made about 12).

8. Bake for 15-20 minutes until cooked all the way through.  The top should be lightly browned.

9. Serve warm, share and Enjoy!

The original recipe called for sage which I also think would have been tasty, but I have really been into rosemary these days so I thought I would give that a try…and I also did not have any sage in my spice cabinet (small fail). I also added the sugar to the recipe because when it originally seemed to lack a little flavor, and I think the touch of sweet helped provide some balance to the savory.  All in all, I did not really have many of these to bring home…so I would say that they turned out well.  It is a really easy scone recipe that makes for a nice fall breakfast.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin and Rosemary Scones

  1. These sound delicious… Do you think i could use vegan butter (earth balance) and soy or almond milk instead? I’ve never made scones before, but this sounds like I need to try it…

    • Hey! I think vegan butter should work! I checked out a couple of other similar “Vegan pumpkin scones” recipes and it seems to have not been a problem! And, I probably used soy milk myself in the original recipe. I rarely have anything besides soy/almond or coconut milk in my possession! Let me know how they turn out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

