Sweet Potato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Dear Friends:

Today is the day where I share with you one of the easiest and most delicious things I have ever made. Ever.  As fall begins to fade out (sad sad day) and cold of winter begins to draft through our windows, I am in the mood for soup.  Well, let’s be serious, I am always in the mood for soup but as I mentioned previously, I am trying to work my way through a bunch of recipes in my Soup Bible , and I do not believe there is any better time to warm up your heart and mine than right now.

When I first flipped through my book, I quickly marked this soup because I knew that I would want to come back and eventually make it.  There are few things better than sweet potato soup, but with the addition of roasted red pepper, you and I both will be making this soup for years to come.  What I love most about this soup is how easy it is and how you don’t have to let it simmer for 5 million hours before you can enjoy it.

Ok. So let’s get down to business.  One quick note, I only cook for me…so I actually halved the initial recipe, but I am giving you the original “whole” recipe.

Ingredients

2 red peppers, cubed

1 1/4 lb sweet potatoes (6-7 medium sized)

1 onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/4 cup dry white wne

5 cups veggie stock

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

salt and pepper

oil

Directions

1) On medium-high heat, boil sweet potatoes until able to easily stick a fork through them (25-30 minutes). Drain.

2) Meanwhile, cube red peppers, onion and garlic.

3) Once the sweet potatoes are slightly tender, remove their little “jackets” (peel the skin off–they should slide right off), and cut them into cubes.

5) In large pot, heat oil on medium heat.  Combine red peppers, onion, garlic and sweet potatoes, white wine and veggie stock.

6) Let veggies cook for about 8-10 minutes until red peppers are tender.

7) Transfer contents of pot into food processor or blender. Process until nice and smooth. Season with salt, pepper and cayenne.

8) Return contents to pot and continue to heat and low heat.

9) Transfer to bowls. Top with whatever your heart desires (cheese, red pepper for aesthetic affect…I used feta).

10) Share and Enjoy!


One thought on “Sweet Potato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup

  1. Pingback: Roasted Cauliflower and Rosemary Soup | Take a Bite out of Life

Leave a Reply

