Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

I do not think pumpkin is sweet. You might disagree with me, but I know I am definitely right.  Now, it is easy to make pumpkin sweet and it is extraordinarily delicious when it is, but when you cut into a pumpkin and roast that bad boy up…it is not sweet.  You know how I know this? I have done it before.  That is not a good enough reason for you? Well, pumpkin is in the gourd family (aka squash)…and if you know squash like I know squash, you know that they are delicious but they are not sweet.  Point. Set. Match.


Nevertheless, pumpkin is delicious and because it is in the gourd family, you can do delicious things that are not “sweet” with them. I know, this is blowing your mind right now…it did the same thing for me.  I really don’t know why this year I seem to be going especially pumpkin crazy, but no one seems to be complaining…so I am just going to keep doing my pumpkin thang.  However, I do find that although this soup sounds a little crazy, it is super delicious, nutritious, g-free, vegetarian and it gets better day by day.

I adapted the original recipe from Deb at Smitten Kitchen, but I made a lot of alterations because the original recipe called for meat and some other ingredients I did not have.

Side note: Just double my recipe (except, use 3 cans of black beans) to make for 2+ people.

Ingredients

1 15 ounce cans black beans (rinsed and drained)

1/2 cup drained canned tomatoes, chopped

1 /2 cups chopped white onion

1/2 cup chopped red onion

2 garlic cloves minced

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon chilli powder

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 stick unsalted butter

2 cups veggie broth

1 cup of canned pumpkin (or fresh and pureed)

3 to 4 tablespoons Apple Cider vinegar

1/2 cup dry white wine (optional)

salt

pepper

Directions

1) In a food processor coarsely puree beans and tomatoes.

2) In a medium-large pot , saute onions, garlic, salt and pepper in butter over medium heat.

3) Once the onion begins to brown, stir in the bean and tomato puree, and then add the broth, pumpkin, vinegar, dry white wine.

4) Add the rest of the seasonings to the pot (cumin, cinnamon, chilli powder, cayenne pepper) and stir well and simmer uncovered. Stir occasionally.

5) Let simmer for about 20-25 minutes until thick.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

6) Share and Enjoy!

This soup is good, simple and literally gets better day after day.  Yes, the combination might sounds weird but the pumpkin and black bean balance each other out really well.  I added some chilli powder and cayenne to give it a little kick, which I really think helped take the flavor profile of the soup to another level.  So, if you’re looking for something different to do with pumpkin this fall…this is definitely it.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

  1. I’m excited to start following your blog!
    And this soup looks fantastic. I’m a huge fan of fall-inspired recipes 🙂
    Do you have an immersion blender? I bought one when I started making lots of soup and it was hands-down the best kitchen purchase I’ve made!

  2. Pingback: a{n intentional} hiatus « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: Roasted Cauliflower and Rosemary Soup | Take a Bite out of Life

Leave a Reply

