Sweet-Potato and Peanut Stew

I apologize.  Throughout my fall filled with potentially too much pumpkin (not really) and a fair amount of apple, I have almost neglected one of my first fall loves, sweet potatoes.  The way I grew up eating Sweet Potatoes was in the candied yam form deliciousness to which my Mom is the absolute pro, but as I have gotten older and developed my culinary palette, I have come to realize that Sweet Potatoes are one of the most delicious vegetable/starch out there and they are diverse in their use.  So, I apologize for not tapping more into my sweet potato love and giving you some more sweet potato recipes, but I plan to remedy that in the upcoming months. 

Staying with the overall idea of soup, I decided to try out a more heartier stew.  Although this stew sounds a little strange with the combination of sweet-potato and peanut, it really plays up the idea of sweet and salty…everyone’s favorite.


Adapted from: Soups & Stews: Simply Delicious Starters & Main Dishes

Ingredients

3 medium sweet potatoes

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon red chilli paper flakes

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 can garbanzo beans (chickpeas)

1 3/4 cups veggie broth

1 1/2 cup diced tomatoes (slightly under 1 14 oz can)

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter (yes peanut butter)

a touch of oregano

Directions

1) Boil sweet potatoes on high until fork tender. Drain, Cool, Peel and Cut into cubes.

2) Meanwhile, in a large sauce-pot, heat oil over medium heat until hot.  Add garlic, cumin, salt, cinnamon, cayenne pepper and chilli pepper flakes. Stir for about 30 seconds.

3) Stir in beans, broth, tomatoes and peanut butter until well blended. Stirring occasionally 1 minute.

4) Reduce heat to medium-low and add sweet potatoes and simmer stirring occasionally for about 2-5 minutes.

5) Sprinkle with oregano.

Leave a Reply

