Apple Pie

Shut the front door apple pie.

That is what I think of this deliciousness that tastes like fall, childhood memories, thanksgiving, christmas, greeting cards, winter and home in the hudson valley. Yes, this pie tastes like that and so much more.

I will admit that when it comes to most pies, I cheat.  I don’t mean in the sense that I go to the frozen food section and buy a Mrs. Smith Apple or Pumpkin Pie and then play it off as homemade.  However, I do mean that I go to the frozen food section and buy my pie crusts and also a box of the roll out pie crusts.  You can judge me. I’m ok with that.  Now, if you are completely opposed to this timesavingmostpeopledoit short cut, here are a couple of good recipes for making a “pie lid” and crust.

This apple pie is so good. It is so unbelievably good. I have made apple pies before using other recipes, and it was not even nearly as good.  I personally think apple pie is so simple to make and almost impossible to mess up.  I mean, it’s just tossing around some apples, letting the flavors set in and then popping it in the oven until all the gooey appleness bakes and bubbles up. You want that right now, I know.

Adapted from: Food Network

Ingredients

Dough and Filling:

3/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3 1/2 cups peeled, chopped cooking apples (I used a mix of Gala, McIntosh, and Golden Delicious)

1 cup applesauce

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 tablespoons butter, chopped into small pieces

Dash of salt

Crunch Topping (optional but recommended)

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon butter, room temp

Dash salt

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2) Thaw out pie crust or roll out crust into a pie pan.

3) Combine sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.

4) Stir in apples, applesauce and lemon juice. Let sit for 10-15 minutes.

5) Cut remaining crust into strips and arrange in a lattice design over top of the pie.

6) For the topping: Combine, flour, sugar and salt in a bowl.  Then cut the butter using a fork and use fingers to mix until crumbly.

7) Sprinkle topping over crust.

8) Bake for 10 minutes on 425 degrees and then reduce heat to 350 degrees and continue to bake for another 40-45 minutes until crust and topping are golden brown.

9) Remove from oven. Cool (if you can) and enjoy! For real, ENJOY! Oh and Share! Don’t forget to share. 🙂

10) Oh my goodness. Don’t forget the Vanilla ice cream!


This was raved about.  Not to toot my own horn but this was so good. So very good.  Juicy, but not soggy. Appley and Cinnamony. Perfectly Thanksgiving time and all the year time. Really, go make this for your family. Please. Go make this for your friends. Go make this for your life. Your life needs this pie.

One thought on “Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Pear Upsidedown Cake « Take a Bite out of Life

Leave a Reply

