Sweet Potato, Red Onion and Goat Cheese Pizza

It has been a while since I had made a pizza. Well, kinda.  I have made a couple of delicious pizzas one evening with BOOF Buddy, Jiggles, but I had failed to document the occasions.

I don’t fear many things in the kitchen, but one of the few things that I have feared for quite some time is yeast.  Now, in the classroom, yeast and I are best friends.  That eukaryotic organism in the Fungi kingdom and I have spent lots of quality time together as they have helped me navigate my way through the  cell cycle. I digress.  But, yes I have been fearful of using yeast in the kitchen because those little buggers are so easy to kill if you use the wrong temperature water.  However, I have recently put on my big girl pants and gotten down with the yeast.  I first made my Grandmother’s homemade roll recipe (sorry, that won’t get shared) and the rolls rose! Score. So, I decided to continue to become even more comfortable with yeast and venture into finally making my own pizza crust.  When I usually conquer my fears in the kitchen, I always remark that “if I would have known it was this easy…”, and the same goes for making my own pizza crust.  If I had only known it was this easy…  The only thing is that it takes about 20-25 minutes for the dough to rise, but that works well because it gives you time to prepare your pizza toppings.

I really wanted to get creative with my pizza for the night, and I had seen a recipe for sweet potato and red onion pizza somewhere, so I thought I would give it a whirl and see what came of it.

 

Ingredients


The Dough

1 package active dry yeast

1/4 cup warm water (not boiling or scalding)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups all-purpose flour (or bread flour)

2 teaspoons sugar

The Toppings

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 medium red onion

2 cups spinach

4 tablespoons goat cheese

1/4 cup shredded mozzarella

 

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2) In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water for about 10 minutes until creamy.

3) Meanwhile, mix together flour, salt, olive oil and sugar.  Add in yeast mixture and mix well.

4) Kneading the dough with your hands, form it into a ball.  Cover and set aside in a warm place (I just put it on my oven) and let it rise for about 20-25 minutes.

5) Meanwhile, boil sweet potatoes for about 10-15 minutes, until tender enough to stick a fork through, but not tender to where they are falling apart.  Once done cooking, drain, cool, peel and dice into large cubes.

6) Chop up red onion into medium sized chunks.

7) Throw a dash of flour, corn starch and olive oil onto your pizza stone/pan and roll out pizza dough.

8) Pop it in the oven for about 8-10 minutes.

9) Remove and top with sweet potato, onion, spinach and goat cheese.

10) Cook in the oven for about 15 minutes until the spinach is wilted and the cheese is melted.

11) Remove from oven.  Cool, share and enjoy!


The flavors on this pizza work extremely well together.  The sweet of the sweet potato help compliment the sharpness of the goat cheese and the pungency of the onion and spinach.  This is a delicious option for your next pizza night.  🙂

 

 

One thought on “Sweet Potato, Red Onion and Goat Cheese Pizza

  1. Pingback: Goat Cheese and Olive Pizza « Take a Bite out of Life

Leave a Reply

