Oreo Snowballs

Day 15

I remember the first time I made these.  It was around the time when I first started finding my footing in the kitchen when it came to my baking.  That whole baking thing kinda happened overnight, so when I started to get into it for my first holiday season, I thought I would also try out something that did not quite involve baking.  Needless to say those almost 10 years ago have really turned me into quite the little baker, but year after year this is a go-to crowd pleaser.

These are so simple and some individuals always used to ask me for the recipe…well, people still ask me for the recipe. However, now it seems as though everyone makes Oreo snowballs (most refer to them as Oreo Truffles).  I constantly tell myself that I was one of the first people to really get “hip” to Oreo truffles (as my adorable dad would say) because all of my friends used to ask me for the recipe.  I used to be very sparing in my dissemination of this precious recipe, but now since it is literally at everyone’s finger tips…I really don’t hold back.  Clearly. Since I am going to give it to you right now.

You will be forever loved by your friends and your families.  I love these because they can be decorated with sprinkles for every holiday occasion.  Fourth of July…red white and blue….Easter…pink, yellow green…St. Patty’s Day, kelly green….you get the picture. 🙂

Ingredients

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese

1 package of oreos

1 package of meltable chocolate

***I left that vague on purpose because depending on your preference, you can use anything from almond bark to standard chocolate chips

Directions

Quick Note: Back in the day (well, prior to this year), I never had a food processor.  I used to do this bad boy by hand…but boy does a food processor make this SO unbelievably easy. It’s amazing.

1) In a food processor (or a DOUBLED ziplock bag), combine oreos and cream cheese. until well incoroporated.

2) Pop the mixture (sealed bag or a covered bowl) into a fridge. Refrigerate for at least two hours.

3) Line baking sheets/plates with wax paper. Set aside.

4) In a small saucepan, melt chocolate over LOW heat.

***SIDE Note: I like to add a little bit of vegetable oil to my chocolate to thin it out a little.

5) Remove Oreo cream cheese mixture from fridge and using a small ice cream scoop, scoop out small balls of the mixture and drop in the chocolate to coat.

6) Place chocolate covered oreo snowballs on wax paper. Set aside. Decorate if you so choose.

7) Once one plate/baking sheet is filled, place in freezer to help harden.

8) Share and Enjoy!

Final Notes: If you are storing these, do so in air tight containers and in the fridge because of the cream cheese! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Oreo Snowballs

  1. Pingback: Oreo Cream Cheese Cookies « Take a Bite out of Life

  2. Pingback: Oreo Chip Cookies | Take a Bite out of Life

Leave a Reply

