Pear Upsidedown Cake

Day 16 featured and old classic but goodie….Oatmeal Raisin.  These are the same recipe as my Oatmeal Craisin except with Raisins. Yeah. Piece of cake deliciousness.

Well.  This past Christmas Eve, I wanted to do something a little different with my family.  With Christmas falling on a Sunday, things were a little different this year, so I wanted to do something different and special to celebrate the holidays.  Rather than have a huge Christmas Eve dinner, I threw out the idea of just a Christmas Eve Dessert party.  Some family, some friends and and some dessert.  Clearly, I took the responsibility of providing and preparing all of the dessert for the party, but it made me so happy to be preparing all of these delicious treats for my friends and family.

I made a host of cookies that I have previously mentioned, as well as my go to Apple Pie and Sweet Potato Pie.  I also wanted to make something special and different and although I was pressed for time, I thew together this little gem that will definitely be made again.

I had an idea to make a pineapple upside down cake, but I wanted to try something different and so I thought about pears.  Although I would have liked to use fresh pears that I roasted and softened on my own time, I really did not have time for all of that, so I just used to the canned version and it seemed to work out very well.

Surprisingly, I found another blogger that had the same idea that I did, so I used her hints and made some changes of my own.  I have a feeling that I am going to want to make a peach version of this beauty come summertime. YUM.

Adapted from: Moonspice

Ingredients

For the Topping

½ cup Dark Brown Sugar

¼ cup Unsalted Butter- 1/4 cup

1 15 oz. canned pears, drained and thinly sliced

For the Cake

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1 cup granulated sugar

3 medium eggs

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup vegetable oil (any flavorless oil will do)

Directions

Make the Caramel Topping

1) Butter and line a 9 inch cake pan and arrange the pear slices in circles at the bottom of the pan. Start from the outer edge. Set aside.

2) Place a saucepan over medium low heat and melt the sugar and butter.

3) Once the mix begins to bubble and caramelize a touch, swirl the pan and maybe stir. Remove from heat.

4) Gently pour the caramelized mixture over pear slices. Be careful to not disturb your pretty pattern in the pan! Set aside.

Make the Cake

1) Center a rack in the oven and preheat it to 350 degrees F.

2) Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl.

3) Into a separate mixing bowl or stand mixer throw in the sugar, eggs, apple sauce and vanilla extract and using an electric beater or mixer.

4) While mixing, add the dry ingredients bit by bit, making sure no traces of flour is visible.

5) Finally, pour the oil into the mixture and using a spatula fold it in. Don’t mix too vigorously.

6) Pour the cake batter gently on top of the pear slices till about 3/4th full and spread evenly.

7) Bake for about 45 to 50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

8) Take it out of the oven and let it stay on a wire rack for about 5 minutes.

9) Pray. No really. Pray.

10) Put a plate on the top of your cake pan, and flip it so your cake comes out…hopefully in one piece.

11) Share and Enjoy!

A fun new treat for anytime! Make ME!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

