Butterscotch Macaroons

I have wanted to make Macaroons for quite some time now.   I think it is in part a result of my fascination with the way that egg whites are able to be whipped up into little peaks of goodness.  I also think it is because macaroons are gluten free which allow me to bake them up for my GF buddies.

I made these for a bunch of my buds that I hadn’t seen in a while and needless to say, they were a hit.  I decided to change up the original recipe and add my own special ingredient which I think is what really brought them to another level of deliciousness (or so I like to think).  Even if you do not like coconut or macaroons, I highly recommend that you make these…because I am certain that they may just change your mind on all the above.

Adapted from Food Network 

Ingredients

For the Cookies

2 large egg whites

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 cups sweetened shredded coconut

3/4 cup Butterscotch chips

For the Glaze

6 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

3 tablespoons light corn syrup

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

Confectioners sugar, to dust on top

 

 

Directions

For the Cookies

1) Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

2) Line 2 baking sheets with parchment/wax paper.

3) Lightly beat the egg whites in a medium bowl until frothy, then stir in the granulated sugar,vanilla and salt.

4) Fold in the coconut. Fold in the Butterscotch chips.

5) Drop tablespoonfuls of the batter 1 inch apart on the prepared baking sheets.

6) Dampen your hands and form into tall pointed mounds.

7) Bake until the edges are golden brown and the macaroons look dry, about 16 to 20 minutes.

8) Let cool 10 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Make the Glaze 

1) Put the chocolate, corn syrup, butter and 3 tablespoons hot water in a microwave-safe bowl.

2) Cover with plastic wrap and microwave until melted, about 2 minutes.

3) Whisk until smooth.

Assemble final product

1) Dip the tip of each macaroon about halfway into the glaze, then place on a clean parchment paper-lined baking sheet.

2) Sprinkle with confectioners sugar.

3) Refrigerate until the glaze sets, about 30 minutes to 1 hour.

4) SHARE and ENJOY!

Really. These were a crowd favorite.  I was actually taken back by how much these were loved…I guess I should probably make them again soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

