Bell Pepper, Spinach, Tomato and Onion Frittata

Hey! One of the ways I made it through Paleo? Eggs. I have always loved me some eggs but it was slightly more difficult because I had to leave out the dairy (aka the CHEESE) from my normal egg routine .  However, instead of frying up two eggs a day (which probably would not have been the best decision for my cholesterol), I decided to make an egg dish and then just eat a slice (or two) every morning for breakfast for a few days.  Not only did it cut down on my time to get ready in the morning, but since the frittata was jam packed with other veggies, it also made it nice and fulfilling.   It was also a shocker to me that you really do not actually need cheese to make egg dishes tasty.  Really, this kind of blew my mind.  Like most, I have always been accustomed to adding cheese by habit to my eggs, but I realized with just a touch of seasoning, you really do not need it.  Crazy. This is not to say that I have not enjoyed cheesy eggs since going off of Paleo, but I no longer will automatically discount making eggs for breakfast if there is no cheese on the premises.

This frittata was quite scrumptious and then I also made it really pretty (by my opinion), so I think that always makes things more fun.

Ingredients

1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped

1/2 bell pepper, diced

3 cups spinach, packed

3 roma tomatoes, cut into wedges.

5 eggs

1/3 cup coconut milk

2 tbsp butter or coconut oil

sea salt, fresh ground black pper

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Prepare pie plate and set aside.

2) Over medium heat, add butter/oil to pan.

3) Add onion to pan and saute for 4-6 minutes until slighty browned.  Add bell pepper and continue to saute until softened.  Sprinkle a touch of sea salt and black pepper.

4) Meanwhile in a medium bowl, mix together 5 eggs and coconut milk. Mix well.

5) Add eggs to pan and tenderly lightly scramble eggs. Fold in spinach until they begin to wilt. Season with some additional sea salt and pepper.

6) Transfer mixture to pie plate and spread out.  Arrange Roma tomatoes around the pie plate in a fan pattern.

7) Bake in oven for 25- 30 minutes until top and edges begin to brown. The middle should rise throughout the baking.

8) Remove from oven. Let  cool before cutting.

9) Share and Enjoy!

Frittata/Quiche are so simple to make, a crowd favorite and big time saver.  This is a simple go to dish and you can experiment with a variety of veggie choices (or add some bacon in there…for my non-veg friends).

Leave a Reply

