Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

Love is in the air.

Well for me, love is ALWAYS in the air because I have so much love for YOU.  However, in the days surrounding that day that we tend to celebrate LOVE (although I believe LOVE should be celebrated everyday), I decided that I would make something cutesy in honor of the holiday.

I had been wanting to make something of the Red Velvet Cheesecake sort for sometime now, so this appeared to be the perfect time to make something happen.  I was inspired by the beauty of The Novice Chef’s execution of the treat, and although they were pretty good, I would probably make some alterations the next time I plan to make them. I also think I want to continue to try other things of the red velvet cheesecake variety…because I mean it is difficult to go wrong with Red Velvet and cream cheese…just saying.

Adapted from: The Novice Chef

Ingredients

Red Velvet Layer

3 1/4 cups flour
2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
3 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3 large eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
4 tablespoons milk, divided
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon red food coloring

***Side note: I am one of those people who does not believe in putting vinegar in their red velvet…if you are one of those people who do, go for it. 🙂

Cheesecake Layer

2 8oz packages cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 13 x 18 jelly roll pan with butter or spray.

***I do not own a jelly roll pan…so I just used my deep 12×18/19 baking sheet. Obviously if you have a jelly roll pan, please use it but the DEEP baking sheet worked fine for me.

2) In large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder. Set aside.

3) In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, vegetable oil, 2 tablespoons milk, vanilla extract, red food coloring.

4) Combine the dry and wet ingredients, until completely combined. The batter will be a really thick, but don’t worry, that’s what you want.

5) Remove 3/4 cup of the batter and place it in a medium bowl. Whisk in the remaining 2 tablespoons of milk  into the 3/4 cup of batter you just took out.   Set aside the 3/4 cup batter.

6) Pour the remaining batter into the prepared jelly roll pan/baking sheet. Using a spatula, smooth out the batter to reach all the edges.

7) In your stand mixer, beat cream cheese and sugar until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla, beating until combined and there are no lumps.

8) Pour the cream cheese mixture on top of the red velvet layer and smooth mixture till it reaches all the edges.

9) Drop spoonfuls of the remaining red velvet batter (that you mixed with milk) onto the top of the cheesecake layer. Drag the tip of a knife through the red velvet and the cheesecake layers to create swirls.

***Side Note: If I were to make this again, I think I would just use some red food coloring and straight cream cheese…I don’t think I really liked the additional red velvet layer mixed into the cream cheese. Just a thought.

10) Bake for 30 minutes, rotating half way through, or just until the center is set and it no longer jiggles.

11) Let cool completely on a wire rack before cutting.

12) Use a medium sized heart cookie cutter to create some food love for your LOVE.

13) Share and Enjoy!

Overall, this treat wasn’t bad. Although I am going to be honest and say that I do think this is one of those things that kinda looks prettier than it actually tastes. That is not to say that it does not taste good…but because it is SOOO very pretty that I was expecting the taste to be all “Boom Bam Thank Ya Ma’am”…and all it had a was a little “Bam”.  I will not be giving up on the Red Velvet Cheesecake theme, and it will be legen……..wait for it…………………………..dary. 

Leave a Reply

