Sweet Potato Veggie Chili

Every winter, I make veggie chili.  Every winter when I make chili, I make a relatively large pot and then proceed to eat for almost a week.

This year was no different.

However, I wanted to change things up a bit and I decided to create my own chili recipe with some different ingredients, but I had this feeling that it was going to turn out well.  Not only did it turn out well, I am tempted to replace my former veggie chili recipe for this newbie in my brain’s “gotorecipe” book. Well, I do like the former Veggie Chili recipe, so I guess that I will not replace it all together, but for all of you friends out there who are doubting the ability of Veggie chili to be hearty and delicious, I dare you to make this…I am certain that you will be singing a different tune.

Goodness, I want some chili now.

Ingredients

2 full carrots, sliced

1 celery stalk, diced

1 medium onion, coarsely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 bell pepper, chopped

4 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into cubes

1 15 oz. can light red kidney beans

1 15 oz. can dark red kidney beans

1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes (I like the “spicy” ones)

1 32 oz. can whole peeled chopped tomatoes

1 tablespoon cumin

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon red chili flakes

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil (just to coat the pot initially)

Directions

1) In a small pot, boil sweet potatoes for 8-10 minutes until tender enough to stick a fork through.  Remove from heat. Drain. Peel. Dice into cubes.

2) Meanwhile, in a dutch oven, heat oil over medium heat.

2) Add onions and garlic and saute for 3-5 minutes.

3) Add celery and carrots and continue to saute and mix well for another 4-6 minutes, until the carrots are tender.

4) Add both cans of tomatoes and mix well. Let simmer for a few minutes.

5) Add in beans, sweet potato and seasonings. Mix well.  Let the chili come to a boil and then let simmer for about 25-30 minutes.

6) Add salt and pepper to taste.

7) Feel free top with some cheese and or/sour cream. Serve warm!

8) Share and Enjoy!

The sweet potato not only added some more heartiness to the soup but it also that the touch of sweet making it a perfect complement to the spiciness of the seasonings.  Vegetarians and Non-vegetarians alike will love this chili recipe! I promise! Go make it!

 

Leave a Reply

