Roasted Butternut Squash Quinoa Salad

I’m back.  I’ve cooked. I’ve baked. I haven’t blogged. I’m sorry.

But I am getting ready to make it up to you with a thunderstorm of blog posts to hopefully catch you up on what I have been up to in the kitchen for the past couple of months.

I left off with a delicious Quinoa salad that I whipped up one evening for dinner.  Although it will now be difficult to find Butternut squash due to the season, I believe that this could equally work well with some summer squash and/or zucchini.

I also really liked the addition of the dried cranberries which added a nice touch of sweet to the rather savory dish.

Ingredients

1/2 butternut squash

1 cup uncooked quinoa

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup sweet peas

olive oil

salt

pepper

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Rinse and cook quinoa according to directions (Just like rice— boil and simmer).

3) Cube butternut squash into 1/2 inch-inch cubes.

4) In a small baking dish, roast squash in a teaspoon of olive oil and salt and pepper for about 10-12 minutes until slightly softened.

5) In a small bowl, combine cooked quinoa, sweet peas and dried cranberries.

6) Gently fold in butternut squash and season to taste with salt and pepper.

7) Share and enjoy!

 

A simple dish that has a nice flavor combo and perfect as a side dish or a main meal.

 

Leave a Reply

