Mushroom, Leek and Garlic Quinoa

I’ve been inspired to eat more quinoa.  A lot of this stems from my usual efforts to be healthy, but also after I stopped Paleo, I realized that I was able to fill myself up without the addition of grains and heavy carbs into my diet.  I also realized that there are things that I wanted to consume regularly (like beans) that Paleo did not allow me to enjoy.  Therefore, I knew that the full Paleo life was not quite for me but I knew that I could be to a certain degree “gluten-free” in my eating choices.

In that regard, I decided that I would start to add more quinoa into my diet as it is not only a grain that is high in fiber but it is also high in protein! Yippie! I am always looking for ways to add more protein in my diet, so I was thrilled to find a healthy grain is able to do that for me.  My adventure to cook more quinoa was also aided in Cooking Light’s 15 Recipes for Cooking with Quinoa, so watch out because quite a bit of fun with Quinoa will be coming your way.

In one of my most recent quinoa adventures, I took a slight adaptation from cooking light and made it my own but increasing the robust flavor of the quinoa itself with garlic.  It came out really well and I definitely recommend this dish to you and your loved ones.

Adapted from Cooking Light

Ingredients

1 tbsp butter

1 small yellow onion, diced small

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups vegetable broth

1 cup uncooked quinoa

1/4 tsp salt, or to taste

1 leek, chopped

1 pint of baby bella mushrooms, sliced

Directions

1) In a medium sized pan, saute the onion and garlic in butter or olive oil over medium-high heat for 3-5 minutes, until onions are just soft.

2) Reduce heat to medium low and add the vegetable broth and quinoa.

3) Cover, and allow to simmer until liquid is mostly absorbed and quinoa is cooked, about fifteen minutes.

4) Remove from heat, and gently mix quinoa to distribute any excess moisture.

5) Season with salt to taste and set aside.

6) In another small-medium sized pan, heat olive oil over medium heat.

7) Combine the mushrooms and leeks over medium heat and saute until both the leeks and mushrooms are softened and cooked all the way through.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

8) Transfer mushroom and leeks over to quinoa and either just lay on top or mix together well.  The choice is yours.

9) Share and Enjoy!

For my non-veg folks, this makes a nice healthy side dish and is able to replace your typical mashed potatoes, pasta or white rice, but still provide pungent flavor and a filling dish.

Leave a Reply

