Apple Crumble Cake

Sometimes I do cutesy sentimental things.  Well, I actually do these things kinda often but I do not really like to admit it.  I like to do nice gestures for people but sentimental things and emotions…eww. Me no likey.  Nevertheless, this year I realized that aside from two members of my office, everyone else is a Mom and so I thought that I, being the only non-mom would do something nice and sweet for the ladies of the office.  And let us be serious, what says “Happy Mother’s Day” better than assorted baked goods.

Part I is one of my favorite summer items, Strawberry Cake, which is always a crowd favorite and then I tested out a new goodie, an Apple Crumble Cake which I thought would make the perfect breakfast item.

Adapted from: Cakes and Bakes

Ingredients

For the Cake 

1/2 cup unsalted butter

2/3 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup cream cheese (I used low-fat)

4 tbsp cornstarch

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

2 cups all-purpose flour

5 apples (I used gala but use whatever you desire!)

For the Crumble

1/3 cup butter

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup (approx) of slivered/ground almonds

2 tbsp. sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

2) Grease/butter a 10 inch spring form pan (or just a round cake pan–that is what I used and I was fine)

3) In a stand mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

4) Beat in eggs one at a time and then add the vanilla followed by the cream cheese.  Mix well.

5) In a medium sized bowl, sift together the dry ingredients: cornstarch, baking powder, flour and cinnamon. Add to wet ingredients in the stand mixer.  Mix on low.

6) Peel and cube apples. Turn off stand mixer and gently fold the apples into the batter.

7) Spread batter in prepared cake pan.

8) To make the crumble, first melt the butter and let it cool.  In a small bowl, mix together the flour, almonds, sugar and cinnamon and then add the melted butter.

9) Top the cake with the crumble mixture.

10) Bake in the oven for 40-50 minutes until golden brown.  Let it cool in the tin.

11) Once cool, if using a spring form pan, release the pan and serve.  If using a regular round bake pan, slice and serve directly from the pan.

12) Share and Enjoy!

This was my first time making an apple crumble cake and it went over very well.  All of the ladies thoroughly enjoyed and it definitely could be a nice staple to any breakfast or brunch meal.  I think when making again, I would add maybe 1/4 cup of unsweetened apple sauce just to moisten it up a little bit, but aside from that the flavor was great and the crumble did just what it says…it crumbled perfectly in your mouth.

 

Leave a Reply

