Spiced Raisin Cake

This is part III of the Mother’s Day baking fiesta. Although this was well liked by all who had in the office, it was probably my least favorite of the three. Therefore, I will inform you now that I will be making this again, but I will make some more alterations to ensure that it comes out how I intend it to come out.

Nevertheless, this is a nice breakfast/brunch/anytime spiced raisin cake that as I previously stated was liked by all of the ladies in the office. I think the saving grace (in my opinion) was the cream cheese frosting which instantaneously makes anything better…obviously.

Adapted from: Cakes and Bakes

Ingredients

For the Cake

2/3 cup butter

2 tbsp cocoa powder

8 eggs

1/2 cup sugar

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/3 cup raisins

1 tbsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. cloves

1/4 tsp cinnamon

For the icing

1 8 oz. block of cream cheese

2 cups confectioners sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit and grease loaf pan.

2) Melt butter and let it cool.

3) In two bowls, separate eggs (yolk from whites)

4) Add sugar to the egg yolks and beat until foamy.

5) Stir in the butter, then the dry ingredients…one by one (flour, cocoa powder, raisins, cinnamon and cloves)

6) In the bowl with the egg whites, beat until stiff.

7) Gently fold the stiffened egg whites into the batter.

8) Carefully spoon the batter into the loaf pan.

9) Bake for about an hour, until a toothpick comes out clean.

10) Remove from pan and let it cool slightly.

11) Meanwhile, in a stand mixer, beat together cream cheese, confectioners sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy.

12) Spread over cake and sprinkle top with cinnamon (if you so desire).

13) Share and Enjoy!

My main issue with the cake was that it came out much more dense than I anticipated and it was not as dark to the color as the cookbook pictured. I think that maybe another 1 tsp or 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder would do the trick. I also think that maybe the consistency was affected by my eggs not being SUPER stiff when I folded them into the batter. This could have played a role but I also think to an extent that the batter needed to be a little lighter, and so I am conjuring up flavorful ways to do this when I attempt this cake again. Because who doesn’t love a spice cake with cream cheese frosting.

If you enjoyed this post, you might also enjoy

Apple Spice Cake

Leave a Reply

