Meaty Lasagna

I am so sorry.  I have been on the road like whoa which has left me little time to post and update you with my latest cooking adventures.  There has been many, so I will try to get back my regularly scheduled programming to share with you some of the latest tasty things to come out of my kitchen.

This was part II of the bf’s first favorite food list.  I have obviously made some delicious lasagnas in my day, but they have all been of the vegetarian variety so this was going to be a different situation…making meaty lasagna for the first time.  I do recognize that when I did eat meat, I used to loveeee me some meaty lasagna and although it was never really one of the meat items that I longed for since becoming a vegetarian, I do remember those days.

I mixed together two different recipes I found and then put my own touch on it. It’s super meaty and super cheesy, so I think that is ultimately a recipe for amazingness.

Adapted from: All Recipes and Food Network

Ingredients

9 oven ready lasagna noodles

1 pound lean ground beef

1 pound sweet italian sausage (i am actually tempted to use the hot sausage next time…)

2 pounds ricotta cheese

1 (28 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce (just pick a good tasting one 🙂

1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 teaspoons  dried basil

2 teaspoons ground oregano

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon peper

1 (5 oz.) package grated Parmesan cheese

2 tablespoons fresh chopped parsley leaves

2 (8-ounce) packages shredded mozzarella

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2) In a large saucepan, combine ground chuck, sausage onion and garlic. Cook over medium heat until meat is browned and crumbled; drain.

3) Return meat to pan and add oregano, basil, salt and pepper.

4) Add tomatoes and tomato sauce.

5) Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 30 to 45 minutes.

6) In a small bowl, combine ricotta cheese, Parmesan, parsley, and eggs.

7) Spoon 1/4 of sauce into bottom of a 13 by 9 by 2-inch baking pan.

8) Place 3 uncooked lasagna noodles on top of sauce. Do not overlap noodles.

9) Spread 1/3 of ricotta cheese mixture over noodles, top with 1/4 of sauce and 1/3 mozzarella cheese.

10) Repeat layers, ending with sauce, reserving 1/3 of mozzarella cheese.

11) Bake 45 minutes. Top with remaining cheese and bake 15 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Let rest 10 minutes before serving.

 

The bf enjoyed this, but alas I was really unable to do my taste test throughout the preparation due to meat being the primary ingredient.  This does make things a little bit difficult because I have to trust other people’s palettes opposed to my own, but I guess I am going to start airing on the side of over seasoning opposed to under seasoning.  That being said, I would probably use hot spicy sausages opposed to sweet sausages, and I also think that I would maybe add some pepper jack cheese into the mix as well as a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper just to add some heat to the dish.  Nevertheless, the lasagna is good! It is meaty, cheese and does have solid flavor and seasoning! It would definitely be a sure fire hit.

For my veg friends:

Mushroom Lasagna

Spinach, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Lasagna

Leave a Reply

