Sweet Potato Pineapple Fried Rice

Sometimes you want delicious entrees from Thai restaurants but you are unwilling to pay Thai restaurant prices; therefore, you are left to your own masterchef abilities to try and create something just as delicious in your own kitchen.  That pretty much happened to me when I started getting pangs for Pineapple fried rice.  I also came to the realization that Pineapple fried rice from Thai restaurants usually include chicken, so sadly unless I find a location that makes a vegetarian pineapple fried rice, I will have to rely on my own abilities.

(Side Note: I have no real reason to why the sweet potato is a male…it can be a female too)

Ingredients

1 cup brown rice, uncooked

1 Medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed

3/4 cup cubed pineapple (canned or fresh)

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1/2 bell pepper, sliced (I used a yellow one)

1 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms (I just used white mushrooms)

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon Sriracha sauce

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/3 cup sliced cashews (optional)

Directions

***Note: It is best to have cooked the brown rice a day in advance, but if not, you only want to cook it until it is al dente.

1) Cook brown rice (if you have not already done so).

2) In a medium sauce pan, heat one teaspoon of olive oil over medium heat.

3) Add in onions and saute for about 4-5 minutes until they begin to slightly brown.  Add in bell peppers and mushrooms and continue to saute until softened, about another 3-4 minutes.

4) Add in sweet potato and continue to cook until sweet potatoes begin to soften slightly (about 4-5 minutes).  Season with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

5) Add in egg and stir in until egg is lightly scrambled, about a minute.

6) Add in brown rice and stir in mixture well.  Add soy sauce and mix well, about 2 minutes.

7) Gently add in pineapple, mixing well and then add in Sriracha sauce.  Mix well, but gently, for about another 2-3 minutes.

8) Remove from heat.  Transfer to bowl.  Season with additional salt and pepper to taste (you really shouldn’t need to).  Share and Enjoy!

 

I really like this recipe and it is not just because I thought of it! I think that the sweet potato adds a nice heartiness to the dish and the addition of Sriracha helps balance the sweetness with a bite of spicy.  You should make this! And, if you like meat, I do not see any harm in adding some chicken to the dish. 🙂

OH, the one thing that I did want to add but I sadly did not have was CASHEWS.  Add these if you can!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pineapple Fried Rice

  1. I really didn’t feel like going to the store and all I had in my fridge was pre made rice, half a sweet potato, some pineapple, bell pepper, egg. This worked out perfectly! wish I had cashews…

Leave a Reply

