Curried Sweet Potato and Apple Quinoa

Hey friends.  Sorry for the short break but this summer has proved to be one of the busiest (but lots of fun) yet.  I have made lots of tasty things (in my opinion) over the past month or so, so I will be posting some of these recipes retroactively.  Do not let that overwhelm you!

I will forewarn you that there is a A LOT of quinoa in the upcoming recipes.  A lot.  I have mentioned to you my concern with my lack of protein, and with quinoa being the awesome superfood that it is, I just thought I would add a ton of it to my diet in order to help get some more protein while also getting in some whole grain and all that other good stuff.  Sound like a plan? Great. I’m happy your down.

I conjured up this little recipe in my brain and really just thought I would play to the balance between spicy and sweet.  Although this recipe does scream FALL (I am screaming FALL too with all of this hot hot heat), I find that it will be delicious any time of the year as long as you can find some sweet potatoes in your local grocery store.

Ingredients

1 cup uncooked quinoa

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

2 small-medium apples (I prefer gala), peeled and cubed

1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

1 tablespoon curry powder and a dash

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 1/2 teaspoon brown sugar

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1) Cook quinoa according to directions.  Sprinkle in a dash of curry powder while simmering.

2) In a medium sized bowl, mix together sweet potatoes, apples, olive oil, curry powder and cayenne pepper. Mix well and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

3) Heat a medium skillet to medium-high heat (if you have a grill pan, even better).  Transfer contents of bowl onto skillet.  Cook until sweet potatoes are tender and add brown sugar and continue to mix until it begins to caramelize.

4) Remove from sweet potatoes and apples from heat and add to quinoa.  Add in walnuts. Mix together well.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

5) Share and enjoy!

This is very good.  It is packed with protein and complex flavors that come together in a nice harmonious dish.  I would also like to potentially try something similar with pumpkin this fall, but I do believe that will have to wait.  Until then…go get some sweet potatoes and apples!

 

Leave a Reply

