Berry and Nut Breakfast Quinoa

I never thought of this.  I am not mad that I did not think of it first because I am just purely happy that I found it.  Thank you Cookinglight for your ingenious twist on Quinoa.  I would have never thought to use quinoa as a breakfast grain, a temporary substitute for the usual oatmeal but this works, this works well…this works really well.  For me, I usually rely on some egg whites and yogurt for my protein punch in the AM, but switching it up by adding this quinoa breakfast item not only provides some solid carbs for my body to burn throughout the course of the day but it also gives me that much needed protein.

I feel like this is only the beginning of my breakfast adventures with quinoa and I am very excited for the road ahead.

Adapted from Cooking Light

Ingredients

2/3 cup uncooked quinoa

1/4 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup fresh strawberries, sliced

1/4 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt

2 teaspoons brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon chopped toasted walnuts

Directions

1) Cook quinoa according to directions

2) In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients together well.

3) Share and enjoy!

Simple. Delicious. Healthy. Nom.

Leave a Reply

