Vegetarian “Meat”loaf

Hi there beautiful.

It is me, Karri.  It has been far too long since we have crossed paths.  My mom introduced you to me a long time ago and it was love at first bite.  You were one of my favorites growing up and my mom would even allow you to travel with me from the rolling hills of CT to the hustle and bustle of DC.  You were always extremely versatile and played well with others, but little did that once I returned from Australia our relationship would end.  I have always thought about ways to bring you back in the mix, but I never was quite sure of how to go about doing it and I never wanted to sell you short.  I knew that I would be asking a lot of you, to change the essence of who you are, but I was willing to make my request known in order to rekindle the fire we once had.

The day finally came when I found the way to bring you back into my life and although we both have changed tremendously, I knew this was going to be a great opportunity for us to grow together and press forward.  I can finally say that the future looks bright for us, Mr. Meatloaf.

With Love,

-Karri

Now, let’s get down to business.  I finally found a vegetarian “meat loaf” that used real veggies and non of that fakemeat junk that I refuse to eat.  I was so excited to see this recipe combine vegetables in such a unique way to form this loaf that I knew it was time for me to make it.  I had some non-vegetarian friends also try this meatloaf and people were astonished by how good it tasted.  Although they were definitely able to tell that it wasn’t meat, the loaf was hearty, filling and super tasty.  If you’re looking to mix things up and even if you aren’t, you should definitely give this loaf a try.

Adapted from: Cooking Light

Ingredients

Meat loaf

1 large red bell pepper

1 large green bell pepper

2 pounds mushrooms (i used a mix of sliced white and baby bellas)

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup 1/2-inch asparagus pieces

1/2 cup chopped red onion

1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)

1 cup chopped walnuts, toasted

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

1 tablespoon ketchup

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

4 ounces fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, grated (optional, I omitted this and it was still delicious)

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Topping

5 tablespoons ketchup

1 tablespoon vegetable broth

1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Directions

 

1. Preheat broiler to high.

2. To prepare meat loaf, cut bell peppers in half lengthwise; discard seeds and membranes.

3. Place pepper halves, skin sides up, on a foil-lined baking sheet; flatten with hand. Broil 12 minutes or until blackened.

4. Place in a paper bag (I use a ziplock bag); fold to close tightly. Let stand for 10 minutes. Peel and finely chop. Place bell peppers in a large bowl.

5. Reduce oven temperature to 350°.

6.  Place about one-fourth of mushrooms in a food processor; pulse 10 times or until finely chopped. Transfer chopped mushrooms to a bowl. Repeat procedure 3 times with remaining mushrooms.

7.  Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add mushrooms to pan; sauté 15 minutes or until liquid evaporates, stirring occasionally. Add mushrooms to bell peppers. Wipe pan with paper towels.

8. Add asparagus and onion to pan; sauté 6 minutes or until just tender, stirring occasionally. Add onion mixture to mushroom mixture.

9. Arrange breadcrumbs in an even layer on a baking sheet; bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until golden. Add breadcrumbs and the next 8 ingredients (through eggs) to mushroom mixture, stirring well.

10. Spoon mixture into a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray (olive oil); press gently to pack.

11. Bake at 350° for 45 minutes or until a thermometer registers 155°.

12. To prepare topping, combine  ketchup, mustard and vegetable broth in a small bowl; brush ketchup mixture over meat loaf. Bake an additional 10 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes. SHARE and ENJOY!

One thought on “Vegetarian “Meat”loaf

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Lasagna | Take a Bite out of Life

Leave a Reply

