Roasted Cauliflower and Rosemary Soup

How did I make it through my Daniel fast you ask? Prayer and lots of soup. LOTS of soup.

After having now completed my 10 days essentially just eating fruits, vegetables and legumes, I definitely do feel cleaner, healthier and stronger both physically and spiritually.  I told many people that the most difficult part of the fast for me was not giving up the dairy, the flour/wheat products, the sugar or the processed foods, but the thing I struggled with the most was giving up coffee.  I am no longer one of those people who drink coffee for a morning jolt of energy, but rather because I truly do enjoy the taste.  I wish I could say that coffee is able to keep me awake and alert, but until I’m about 4-5 cups in, I can essentially fall asleep at the drop of a pillow. How does this tie back into Cauliflower soup?  I’m not quite sure but I just thought I let you know that my first cup of coffee when I finished the fast (Pumpkin flavored, of course), was absolutely glorious. Glorious.

As I was saying before, I pretty much souped my way through this fast and it was delicious.  I made a host of repeat soups (that you should all make because they are delicious), but as I was trying to decide what to do with my head of cauliflower that was waiting patiently for its turn in my fridge, I came upon the idea of soup.  In a non-Daniel fast world, I probably would have leaned towards a Cream of Cauliflower soup, but that was not really an option and then I also remembered that Cauliflower is that very special vegetable that when pureed almost resembles mashed potatoes, so I knew that cream was definitely not necessarily to make a really smooth and tasty soup.

Although this soup might seem more of an appetizer, it can definitely serve as a meal because one big bowl provides a very subtle heartiness that fills you up unexpectedly.  I kicked it up with spice which takes this rather simple but tasty soup to another level.  Out of all of my soups that I made for the fast, this was Mamadukes favorite of the week and she along with my Dad are my two most supportive but toughest critics.  I guess that is fair…

Slightly Adapted from: Cooking for Seven

Ingredients

1 whole head cauliflower

1 whole head of garlic, minced

1 1/2 stalks celery, diced

1 yellow onion, diced

1 carrot, diced

3 tablespoons dried rosemary

1/8 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme leaves

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

4 cups vegetable broth

1/2 teaspoon hot sauce (I used Habanero sauce, but that is up to your tastebuds!)

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

2.  Cut cauliflower into individual florets. Toss with oil and rosemary, salt and pepper.

3.  Transfer to a foil lined baking sheet.

4.  Roast the cauliflower and garlic at 400 degrees F for about 15-20 minutes, until tender and golden.  Remove from the oven.

5.  Heat oil in dutch oven or medium-large stock pot. Have enough oil to cover the bottom of the pot.

6.  Add the onion, garlic, celery, and carrot. Saute over medium heat for about 10 minutes.

7.  Whisk in the salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne and thyme and continue to saute for about another 2 minutes.

8. Slowly add in the 4 cups broth. Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 10 minutes.

9.  Add the cauliflower and simmer an additional 5 minutes.

10.  Working in batches, add the soup to a blender or food processor and blend until pureed and smooth.

11.  Add additional water during or after blending to achieve desired consistency.

12. After all the batches have been completed, return to the pot. Stir in the hot sauce and cook until just heated through. Add salt and pepper to taste.

13. Share and Enjoy!

Other tasty soups I remade this week that you will love:

Sweet Potato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Red Pepper, Spinach and Pinto Bean Soup

Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

