Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

I don’t know if I told you but a little over a month ago I moved back to NY State. I hail from the beautiful Hudson River Valley and for the first time in almost 10 years, I moved back for the immediate foreseeable future.

Not only does my area boast beautiful scenery filled with rolling mountains, rivers, lakes and the most spectacular fall foliage, but it is also filled with plenty of local farms most notable apple farms. Although this post has nothing directly to do with apples, it has a lot to do with my favorite type of baking…fall baking, and fall baking directly has to deal with apples and pumpkins.

In between the month and half long battle to unpack and organize my life, I bake to de-stress. Who knew that packing/unpacking/moving could be the most stressful thing ever? Somehow I forgot this an absurdly fast two year span. Do not even get me talking about how much stuff one girl can accumulate in two years. Purely ridiculous.

My #1 tip for moving: Pack all of your baking stuff in one bin and keep that with you until the very end. After moving out all of my furniture, clothing and ridiculous amount of knick knacks, I kept my baking bin and my kitchen aid. This was not because I really planned to bake in my last week before moving, but rather when I was unpacking I was at extreme ease knowing where my baking utilities were. So that’s that. Keep your baking stuff with you until the end…your unpacking will thank you.

Clearly I am in love with all things fall which I have mentioned here before, so it was only fitting that I bake my first fall item to welcome the best season of the year. I created this little cookie inspired by other pumpkin cookies that I have made in the past. These were originally a gift for Mamadukes’s secretary (she is the best), but I have already made my second batch because they’re were that good. This is a fall cookie but easily can also be a winter one.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup canola ( I just used standard vegetable oil)

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Snickerdoodle topping:

1 tablespoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons sugar

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

2.  Line two baking sheets with aluminum foil

3.  Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices together in a medium bowl and set aside.

4.  In a stand mixer on medium speed, beat the eggs and sugar until smooth and fluffy.

5.  Once done mixing well, scrape the sides of the bowl.

6.  On low speed, mix the oil, pumpkin, and vanilla until blended.

7.  Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix well.

8.  Use a tablespoon scoop to drop small balls on the baking sheet about 2 inches apart.  (I find using a tablespoon scoop and a small spoon make it easier to drop the balls on the baking sheet).

9.  Mix together snickerdoodle topping and sprinkle (HEAVY) on each cookie.

10.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Make sure the top feels firm before you remove them from the oven.  Cool for about 4-6 minutes.

11.  Share and Enjoy!

These were a delicious hit and everyone will enjoy them.  Perfect way to start of this beautiful fall!

If you like those, you will also like these:

Pumpkin Gingersnap Cookies

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies

Pumpkin Spice Cookies w/ Cinnamon Glaze

Leave a Reply

