Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes with Maple Syrup Apples

Happy Birthday to ME! Well, the official day was a couple of days ago but I am still in the midst of Birthday week 2012 and I just want to celebrateeeee.

Although most people at my age are looking forward to getting another year older and wiser, I was actually loathing the coming of my quarter century.  I felt as though I was plenty old and wise enough, and I did not need to become a “quarter” to tell me so.  Nevertheless, with some great celebrations and family and friends coming from near and far, I actually ended up having a wonderful time celebrating and I found myself in not as much of a crisis as I was before.  When it all boils down, I am extremely thankful to God for allowing me to see this age and blessing me beyond measure with the greatest family and friends and although I have a quite a ways to go in my future goals and endeavors, I am doing quite alright.

Before Birthday week 2012 kicked off, I wanted to make Mamdukes a special breakfast as she was preparing to preach in our Church’s Sunday Morning service.  I knew she was deep in study, so I closed the door to the kitchen and got cooking up something healthy and tasty that I knew she has not had before.  I started looking through the various pancake recipes on Epicurious and came upon a nice healthy Whole-grain filled pancake that looks tasty and simple enough, and then I actually decided to couple it with an apple recipe from a different pancake recipe to make the whole meal my own.

Some may think that with all of these healthy flours and grains that there is no way that they would taste like anything, but these pancakes were actually delicious.  I grew up accustomed to just using the Aunt Jemima Buttermilk pancake mix (which was absolutely delicious, do not get me wrong), but as I got older and got into this baking thing, I realized that pancakes from scratch were so simple and then you were given peace of mind by not having to worry about all of those processed ingredients being added to your breakfast.  This is definitely a nice alternative to your typical pancake breakfast and the addition of the apples pack an additional tasty punch.

Adapted from Epicurious

Ingredients

Pancake Mix

3/4 cup quick-cooking oats (I used old-fashioned and they worked fine)

1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons well-shaken buttermilk, divided

3/4 cup whole-wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 large egg, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1 tablespoon packed brown sugar

Maple Syrup Apples

2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter

3 large Golden Delicious apples (about 1 1/2 pounds), peeled, cored, cut into 1/2-inch-thick slices ( I used a mix of Golden Delicious, Gala and McIntosh)

1 tablespoon plus 1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions

1.  Soak oats in 3/4 cup buttermilk 10 minutes.

2.  Meanwhile, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl.

3.  Stir egg, butter, brown sugar, remaining 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk, and oat mixture into dry ingredients until just combined.

4.  Heat a griddle/frying pan over medium heat until hot and lightly brush with oil.

5.  Working in batches, pour 1/4 cup batter per pancake onto griddle/pan and cook until bubbles appear on surface and undersides are golden-brown, about 1 minute.

6.  Flip with a spatula and cook other side, about 1 minute more. (Lightly oil griddle between batches.)

7.  Make Apples: Melt butter in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add apples and 1 tablespoon maple syrup; sauté until apples are tender, about 5 minutes. Mix in remaining 1/2 cup maple syrup and cinnamon.
8.  Layer apple mixture in between pancakes finishing the top with apples.
9. Share and Enjoy!
Mamadukes loved these and so did I!  These are healthy and tasty and made with all very real ingredients which is the way things should always be! Definitely a suitable brunch item!
Leave a Reply

