Apple Muffins with a Maple Glaze

Hello friends.  So the truth is that I have about 9 recipes that I want to share with you.  I feel guilty if I were to bombard your inboxes with recipe after recipe or restaurant after restaurant, so I try to space things out in hopes that you will read each new entry with a similar fondness of the entry prior.  This is a lot to ask, I know, but this is always my hope.  Nevertheless, if I continue to space out these recipes of delicousness, I will begin to find myself in an endless cycle of “catching up”, and let’s be serious, no one really loves a game of catch up.  That would be like playing phone tag with one of your best friends…you do it…and you kinda pretend to like it….but you really don’t…and then you begin to get sarcastic in your voicemails about “this game of phone tag”, and then your bestie senses your sarcasm and responds with a sarcasm of his/her own and then you are in and endless cycle of sarcastic phone tag.  Oh, sorry.  Maybe that is just me.

Well, these Apple Muffins were a part of a three part breakfast baking bonanza that went on.  The breakfast was to celebrate the Birthday(s) of a truly spectacular set of Twins.  Side note: When referring to the Birthday of twins, is it birthday (singular) or birthday (plural) because the date of birth is the same…and although Twins are plural, they are also oddly singular.  My wonderful English teachers are probably cringing at the thought of this question (I’m sorry, I love you), and I know that is something that I could easily google or BING (although I haven’t tried it yet…their ad campaign is starting to reel me in), I am just really wondering about the singularity and plurality of the concept and the word, Twins.

On to baking.  Part I.  Apple Muffins.

Ingredients

Muffins

1 1/4 cup flour

3 gala apples (or baking apples of your choice) peeled, cored and diced into cubes

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Maple Glaze

2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 teaspoon maple extract

3 tablespoons milk

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Grease muffin tin (12 muffin) or line with cupcake/muffin liners.

3. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Set aside.

4.  In stand mixer, beat together oil and sugar until light.  Add in egg and vanilla.

5.  Add dry ingredients to stand mixer and beat on low until well incorporated.  Add in milk.  (I always save this for last because then you can adjust the consistency to how you like it).  Mix well.

6.  Fold in apples.  Note: for a slightly lighter muffin, add in 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce.

7.  Transfer mixture to muffin tin.  Baking for 18-20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out smooth.

8.  Remove from oven, let cool.  Remove muffins from tin and set aside.

9. Make Glaze: Whip together all powdered sugar, maple extract, vanilla extract and milk.  Drizzle over muffins while still warm.

10. Share and Enjoy!

I just created these muffins on a whim and they went over extremely well.  These are definitely best when served warm (as are most muffins), and they are a perfect fall breakfast treat in a non-overwhelming portion.  I like these because sometimes we get wrapped up in apple pie and apple desserts that we forget the simple delight of something apple in breakfast, so let’s get back to that.  You with me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

