Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

You had me at cinnamon roll.

Sometimes I still don’t believe that I made these either.  You would think after having been baking now for almost 5-6 years that I would stop doubting my baking ability.  Negative.  Unfortunately, I still doubt myself all the time but I no longer allow my doubt to stop me from attempting what appears to be a difficult baking task.  That is actually a life motto.  I do not give up.  I will never stop trying.  This all to say that I have been tremendously fearful of making homemade cinnamon rolls for a while, but these pumpkin babies were calling my name so I knew it was time to put aside my fear and buckle down.

Anyways, back to these amazing delicious pumpkin cinnamon rolls.  These were the final part of the Breakfast goodies for the Twins.  Unrelated but semi related news flash: I am an only child.  I do not recall if I ever told you that before but it is true.  Shocker.  As an only child, I was never lonely as many might think partly because I have a HUGE family but also because I was extremely active from sport to sport.  However, as many friends I had my own age, I also had a tremendous amount of friends that were older than I was.  Therefore, as I grew up, that trend continued on and the parents of my friends also became my friends in a “play aunt/uncle” kinda way.  That being said, the Twins who we were celebrating are really my Mom’s friends but I have known them for the past 15 years of my life, so I would consider them my friends as well.  That brings up another question, at what age is it okay to consider your parent’s friends, your friends too?  Not saying that you necessarily call them up to hang out but you are more than acquaintances, so I would consider the next step friends?  It’s all just confusing.  But nonetheless, these twins are very special to me so I wanted to make sure that I put my best baking mitt forward when I conjured up some breakfast treats.

Although definitely a bit time consuming, these actually were pretty easy to make.  It actually gave me the inspiration and motivation to make some more inventive (and healthy!) cinnamon rolls in the future.  This is absolutely perfect for breakfast ANY time of the year, not just during the fall and  I believe that this would be a sure fire HIT for your Christmas breakfast.

Adapted from Lauren’s Latest

Ingredients 

The Dough

1 packet active dry yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)

1/4 teaspoon granulated sugar

1/2 cup warm water

1/2 cup warm milk

1/4 cup melted butter

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned but not pumpkin pie filling)

5 1/2 cups all purpose flour

The Filling

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup maple syrup

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 tablespoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

The Glaze

2 cups confectioners (powdered) sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 teaspoon maple extract

3 tablespoons milk


Directions

1.  In large bowl, sprinkle yeast and 1/4 teaspoon sugar over warm water. Stir and proof 5-10 minutes.

2.  Once yeast has foamed, stir in milk, butter, sugar, salt, pumpkin puree, and half the flour.

3.  Continue to stir in flour by 1/2 cup increments. When you can no longer stir with a spoon, either remove dough to board or keep in bowl and knead in remaining flour or until dough is similar to bread dough, slightly sticky.

4.  Lightly grease dough ball and place into a clean bowl. Cover with plastic wrap, a clean kitchen towel or if you are as fortunate as me to have the awesome pyrex bowls with tops, cover with the appropriate top.

5.  Let dough rise overnight or 1-2 hours (until doubled in size).  If rising overnight, you probably can refrigerate but it is not necessary.  If rising in the 1-2 hour time frame, keep in a warm place in your kitchen.

6.  When ready to bake, grease a 9×13 pan and a pie plate and set aside.

7.  In a small bowl, stir maple syrup and butter together.

8.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

9.  Punch down dough and remove to a clean, lightly greased board.

10.  Roll dough out to a 24×12 inch rectangle (approximately). Fun note: this was the first time that I ever actually whipped out the ruler for my measurements.

11.  Pour butter and maple syrup mixture over rolled dough and spread out to moisten entire surface.

12.  Sprinkle brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg over top dough and press down lightly.

13.  Roll dough up lengthwise to be a long, skinny log. Pinch edges of dough together. Using a sharp knife, cut entire log in half (to get 2). Continue to cut each section in halves until you have 16 rolls.

14.  Place rolls in prepared pans. (12 rolls in the 9×13, 4 in the pie plate).  Side note: If some of the filling oozes out onto your board while cutting, scrape it off and place on top of the rolls to bake (we don’t want to loose any filling!).

15.  Cover rolls to rise again for 45 min-1 hour or until they have almost doubled in size. Side note: If you place them on your stove top while your oven is preheating, it will hasten the rising process.

16.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until top of rolls are golden brown. Check between 15-20 minutes to make sure they do not over bake.

17.  While baking, whip together powdered sugar, vanilla, maple extract, and milk together until smooth.

18.  Drizzle over hot rolls and serve warm. SHARE and ENJOY!

Nutrition Facts per serving (16)

Calories 358; Calories from Fat 45; Total Fat 5 g; Saturated Fat 3 g; Cholesterol 12 mg; Sodium 186 mg; Total Carbs 73.2 g; Dietary Fiber 1.7 g; Sugars 33.1 g; Protein 5.0 g

This may have been one of my most successful baking adventures ever and despite the numerous steps, it was more than worth it.  Additionally, although it appears to be a very convoluted process, it really is very straight forward and simpler than I actually could have imagined.  They were a HUGE hit (I know that I usually say that but this is a very special circumstance) and you will not regret making these…ever.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Halloween!!! Five Delicious Seasonal Treats!!! | Gman's Galaxy

Leave a Reply

