Pumpkin Cream Cheese Truffles

OhmyThanksgiving Time!  I know I talked about this in my last post but really? How did we get here? Well, I clearly know the answer to that, but I remain boggled by the idea that Thanksgiving is next week.  Crazytown.  I haven’t started baking yet, and I really haven’t even thought about baking yet.  I guess that is in large part due to the fact that I’ve known since last Thanksgiving what I was most likely going to bake for this Thanksgiving.  Yeah.  Needless to say, I am excited though.  This year has definitely been an interesting one and I have so much to be thankful for (which is the case every year), but I really love Thanksgiving because it doesn’t get much better than family and food.

So the next few posts that I put up will include some additional new-old posts that I will slyly insert.  What I mean by new/old is that the item was something that I made a while back but I am just delivering its awesomeness to you.  I realize that this is the best way to catch me up before my crazy holiday baking and cooking endeavors hit full swing.

These were a delicious treat that I actually sent out to one of the best friend’s of BOOF, GlutenfreeMomo. As her monicker leads you to believe, she is in fact true blue gluten-free because of her Celiac, opposed to many who are just claiming to be Gluten-Free for diet purposes.  Therefore, I believed that since I could not join her in Minnesota for her birthday, I had to at least send her some treats letting her know that I was thinking about her.  I also created a Gluten-free Oatmeal Craisin Cookie for her which I also included in the package, so definitely check out that recipe too.

Oh, so this recipe is a prime example of how just because something doesn’t work out once, does not mean you should give up and not try again.  I actually tried to make these last year but failed miserably.  However, I found a tip on The Galley Gourmet, which I really think helped this actually work out this time.  So, although it is another step, make sure you do it for fail-proof truffles!

Adapted from The Galley Gourmet

Ingredients

Filling

1/2 cup canned pumpkin (or fresh pureed pumpkin)

1 1/2 cups gingersnap cookie crumbs (store bought or homemade) *** I USED Lucy’s Gluten Free Gingersnaps!

2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

1 cup white chocolate, chopped (I just used white chocolate chips)

Topping

1 3/4 cup white chocolate chips (or white almond bark)

2 tablespoons shortening (or vegetable oil– i used veggie oil)

Directions

1.  This is the key– do not skip this step– Place a double/triple layer of paper towels onto a baking sheet.  Take out pumpkin and spread out evenly onto paper towels using a spatula or a knife.  Take another double/triple layer of paper towels and place on top of pumpkin.  Press down and soak up water from pumpkin. Your paper towel will get soaked through.  You can remove the top layer of paper towel and repeat that step again to remove some more moisture from the pumpkin.

2.  Transfer moisture-drained pumpkin to food processor.

3.  Add the gingersnap crumbs, sugar, cinnamon, salt and cream cheese; process until smooth.

4  Melt the chocolate in a medium bowl set over a pan of simmering water (double boiler) or in the microwave, stirring often to allow the chocolate to melt.
5.  Add the melted chocolate to the pumpkin mixture and process until smooth.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and process until completely combined.
6.  Transfer the mixture to a shallow bowl or container, cover and freeze for 1 hour or until firm enough to shape into balls.  Note: I froze overnight which I definitely recommend to ease the process.
7. Line a baking sheet with a sheet of parchment or wax paper.
8.  Using a 1-ounce cookie scoop or your hands, shape the dough into 1 1/4-inch balls and place on the prepared baking sheet.
9. Prepare the topping: Melt the chocolate (or almond bark) and shortening in a medium bowl set over a pan of simmering water (double boiler).
10. Place pumpkin ball onto a small fork over the melted chocolate.  Spoon the white chocolate over the ball and carefully dip the bottom of the ball into the chocolate.
11.  Transfer to baking sheet with toothpick.  Dust with ground gingersnap crumbles if desired.  Let chocolate set. Repeat the process with each truffle.
12.  Once all truffles have been covered in chocolate, place baking tray in the freezer for at LEAST an hour.
13. Share and Enjoy!
These are delicious but I will say that they are super rich, especially with the white chocolate.  On my next go around, I think I would just dip them in either dark chocolate or semi/sweet to cut down on some of the crazy sugar rush.These truffles traveled all the way to Minnesota with 3 day priority mail with no problem, so these can be a perfect holiday gift!  You can also either buy store bought gingersnaps (which I did to cut down on time), or you can make your own.  Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 20
Calories 173; Calories From Fat 100; Total Fat 11.2 g; Saturated Fat 6.1 g; Trans Fat 0 g; Cholesterol 11 mg; Sodium 76 mg; Total Carbs 17.1 g; Sugars 15.5 g; Protein 1.9 g
Leave a Reply

