Spicy Catfish Tacos with Spicy Mayo Sauce

Spicy Catfish Tacos

A lot has happened in my life in the past couple of months, so I apologize for not posting.  I am once again very much behind, but I am determined to get fully caught up by the end of the year.

I am not quite ready to discuss all that has gone on in the past couple of months, but I will say that this blog is probably a much needed outlet and I should have tapped into it sooner.  Nevertheless, I am back and I am here to share some awesome stuff that I have made in the past couple of months.

These catifsh tacos were made some time ago and I will not disclose how long ago because that would just be embarrassing.  Additionally, also around that time I made these absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS Oatmeal Pumpkin Cream Filled cookies.  I ended up sending some to a fantastic friend, CrystaltheCookieMonster, for her birthday and she loved them.  They are a fantastic cookie and I guarantee that all of your loved ones will rave if you add this to your Christmas treats.

Adapted from Feeding Andy

Ingredients

Catfish

1 tablespoon paprika

1 teaspoon black pepper

3 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 cup flour

2 eggs, whisked

1-2 tablespoons cold water

1 cup cornmeal

oil, for frying

additional salt and pepper, to taste

hard or soft tacos (I used whole wheat soft tortillas)

Spicy Mayo Sauce

1/4 cup mayonnaise

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons hot sauce

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

photo 1(2)

Directions

1)  Set up two stations:  One pan for flour and cornmeal mixture and one pan for egg wash.

2)  In the first pan, combine the paprika, black pepper, salt, oregano, sugar, garlic powder, cayenne, flour and cornmeal.  Mix together.

3)  In the next pan, combine the eggs and the water.  Whisk together.

4)  Heat enough oil in a heavy-bottomed pan to come up about an inch.  Heat under medium high heat until temperature reaches about 375F.

5)  Fry catfish until white throughout and exterior is golden brown, about 3-5 minutes, flipping once.  Place on paper towel-lined plate and season to taste with salt and pepper.

6)  Make Sauce: Combine ingredients in small bowl and mix together well.  if you want it a little thinner, add more olive oil.  If you want it spicier, add more hot sauce. 😉

7)  I also sauteed some diced bell peppers and onions in a little olive oil and put those in the tacos as well.

8) Assemble tacos:  Place sauteed vegetables, catfish in warmed tortillas or hard taco shells.  Top with mayo dressing.

9) Share and Enjoy!

These were delicious and although I try to never fry anything, this is definitely a nice occasional treat.  I love the heat from the sauce and it is definitely very versatile and can be utilized in other dishes.

One thought on “Spicy Catfish Tacos with Spicy Mayo Sauce

Leave a Reply

