Almond Berry Smoothie

Almond Berry Smoothie

Happy New Year Friends!

I know I might be a little late but from what I hear, I am allowed to send these happy new year wishes to everyone I please until the end of the month, so that is what I intend to do.  Fantastic.

I trust that all of you lovely friends had a wonderful holiday season filled with family, friends, fun and lots of FOOD.  I did a fair share of last minute holiday baking and cooking and added in a few new recipes to my repoirtore, but I shall talk to you about those in my upcoming blog posts.  Unfortunately, I never was able to catch up to all of my unposted deliciousness but I do intend to get them in somehow, someway.  But I really think we need to have a chat about News Years resolutions.  Well, yeah.

Actually, scratch that.  I think New Years resolutions are actually pretty lame (I think the majority of folks feel this way) because I really just think that you should just DO it rather than coming to a resolution to do it.  I do believe that the New Year is a perfect time to start eating healthier….if you have not already begun to do so.  I also actually kinda believe that the the first 3-7 days of each month of the year is a perfect time to do some sort of cleanse.  I think by shortening the duration of your goal, it becomes more attainable and you are able to easily achieve it and still reap benefits.  By putting yourself in a continual mind frame that you need to cleanse your system, I also think it makes you more aware of what you are putting into your system those other 21-24 days of each month.  So, yes.  Eat healthier.  That is a lifestyle, not a resolution.

Oh, but let’s be serious.  I still bake and eat very gluttonous things that have no nutritional value but everything in moderation folks.  Everything in moderation.

In our healthy start to the new year, I actually decided that I AM going to make more smoothies in 2013.  They are a delicious way to start your day and do not take much effort.  I always thought that I really needed a blender to make a smoothie and although that probably is still the preferred method, I made this bad boy in my food processor and it worked like a charm.  I do need to pick up some protein powder but I have been researching on what the best option is for me in terms of my workout goals, so hopefully in the next week I will figure that out and add that into my smoothies as well.

Adapted from: 30 Days of Amazing Paleolithic Breakfasts

Ingredients 

1 1/2 cup frozen raspberries

2 cupa almond milk

2 teaspoons agave nectar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. Put all ingredients in an electric blender or food processor and puree until smooth.

2. Pour and drink up.

3. Share and Enjoy!

So easy, so delicious and the perfect healthy and filling start to your morning and New Year!

Nutrition Facts per serving

Calories 256; Fat 3.8g; Carbs 56.5 g; Fiber 9.2 g; Protein 2.3 g

Leave a Reply

