BOOFLite Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Oatmeal Raisin

Ahhh. So sometimes I miss big milestones. Well actually, not usually.  I am usually always on top of birthdays, anniversaries, and all of those things that cause any need for celebration.  However, somehow, I failed to recognize that yesterday’s BOOF post was # 300!!!!!  What the WHAT.  Who knew that this girl could manage to not only write a blog but also somehow conjure up 300 blog posts in a little under three years.  I am still not certain why people read my babble, but it always makes my heart so glad when I hear about friends and family actually making some of the stuff that I post…and it actually comes out delicious and they are able to enjoy it as much as I did!  It is also pretty funny because although my blog is linked to facebook, I never really was one to publicize it to my friends and family through any sort of formal communication.  Therefore, when my Mom recognized the breadth of my blog towards the end of last year, she was pretty floored and proud of how legit it actually is. 🙂

But what it comes down to is that I want to thank each and every last one of YOU.  It is actually interesting to compare some earlier BOOF blog posts to now and actually notice that I might have developed some sort of voice as a writer? Weird.  Sometimes I read more recent posts and think to myself “Wow, that was actually a pretty awesome post. Good Job Kar”.  Yes, it sounds just like that in my head.  No exclamation points needed.  Back to the THANKS.  THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU (300 times over).  Knowing that I do have friends, family and blog/foodieworld friends out there who enjoy reading what I write makes me feel super warm and fuzzy inside.  My love for food was established at a young age, but it was not until I was in college that I realized I enjoyed baking and cooking to feed my loved ones and feed myself.  Eating and making food will forever remain a hobby as it helps me relax, so I am just grateful that I can bring smiles to people doing something that makes me smile too.  I love you all.

Now, I do have food for you.  Sometimes I make gluttonous things but many times I make healthy things.  This was my attempt to take a standard cookie and make it a little healthier and a little lighter for my number 1 lady, my Momma.  Oatmeal Raisin cookies are her second favorite cookie, so I wanted to create a healthier and lighter version to make her not feel so bad about eating them and make me feel not so bad about making them.  Here is what I came up with and they were pretty delicious.

Ingredients 

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1/3 cup honey

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats (I prefer old fashioned)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup raisins

Directions 

1)  Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.  Prepare baking sheets (either lightly grease or line with parchment paper/aluminum foil).  Set aside.

2) In stand mixer, beat together oil, honey and sugar.

3)  Add in apple sauce to stand mixer and continue to mix.

4)  Meanwhile, in a large bowl sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

5) Slowly add dry ingredients into stand mixer and mix well.

6) Add in oats and continue to mix well (on slow speed).

7) Fold in raisins.

8) Drop small balls (about a tablespoon in size) on the baking sheet about 2 inches apart.

9) Bake for about 9-11 minutes until golden brown on the bottom.

10) Share and Enjoy!

These were healthy, lite and delicious.  It is one of those cookies that if you didn’t know that I made all of these healthy substitutions, you would never know…and that is my intention when making “lite” cookies.  Make these for your health conscious friends and family…and even those who aren’t so health conscious!

Nutrition Facts 

Makes about 30 cookies

Per serving

Calories 93; Total Fat 3.9g; Cholesterol 0 mg; Carbs 14.2 g; Protein 1.0 g; Fiber 0.7 g

2 thoughts on “BOOFLite Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

