Coconut Shrimp Soup

Coconut Shrimp Soup

Oh hey there.  Sorry I have been a little MIA for the past week or so but life has gotten a little hectic as I prepare for an impromptu trip to NOLA!  That’s right folks, this girl is taking a much needed but way too short weekend getaway to New Orleans to spend some quality time with some great friends…and it doesn’t hurt that it is Mardi Gras too.

If I haven’t told you before, I lived and studied abroad in Melbourne Australia for 6 months and they were probably 6 of the best months of my life.  I absolutely adore Australia and there will come a time that I will get to travel back there and it will be glorious.  But why I am going to New Orleans?  So, I actually traveled abroad with best buddy of BOOF, DrSio and we were fortunate to have a fantastic study abroad group while we were there.  A few of us girls ended up becoming very good friends and 5 1/2 years later (WHOA), that’s how we remain.  Getting to the point.  One of my friends from that group is getting married in June and she decided that what better place to have her Bachelorette party/weekend is NOLA for Mardi Gras.  Although I had always wanted to go on the trip, due to various life situations, I was not planning on going but at the last minute I saw a decent flight for a decent price, so I booked it.  And now the reunion of multiple proportions and amazingness is on.  I can’t wait.

However, as my northeast friends know, we are hunkering down for the most historic snow storm in the past 5-10 years, so please please please pray that my flight gets out Saturday evening!

Oh and food! I have food to share with you!  Yes. For my northeast loves, as you prepare for Nemo (I still do not like that they named this storm after Disney’s most beloved fish…I blame global warming), here is a wonderful soup to warm your bones, homes and hearts.  Obviously, this soup is delicious no matter where you are but soup during a storm sounds pretty perfect to me.

Adapted from 30 Amazing Paleolithic Lunches

Ingredients

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 small medium red onion, diced

1/2 medium green bell pepper, diced

1/2 medium red bell pepper, diced

1 tablespoon ground ginger

2 teaspoon curry powder

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

4 cups chicken/vegetable stock or water

1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed

1 1/2 cup frozen cooked small shrimp, defrosted

1 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk

3 scallions trimmed and thinly sliced

1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped (optional)

Directions

1) Heat olive oil in a medium pot over medium-high heat.

2) Add onion, green and red bell pepper and season with pepper.  Saute until vegetables are softened but not brown, about 5 minutes.  Add ginger, cayenne pepper and curry powder and continue to stir well for about another two minutes.

3)  Pour stock in the pot and add the sweet potato and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until you are able to easily stick a fork through the potato, about 10-12 minutes.

4)  Add shrimp and coconut milk and allow to simmer for another 5-7 minutes.

5) Remove from heat and transfer to bowls.  Top with scallions and chopped basil.

6) Share and Enjoy!

Delicious soup with the perfect balance between the sweet from the potato and the coconut milk and the spicy from the curry powder and cayenne pepper.  And did I mention that it is super easy to make too? 🙂

Leave a Reply

