Mushroom and Asparagus Fettuccine

Mushroom and Asparagus Fettuccine

Things I have learned:

1) I love New Orleans

2) When debating whether to go on a mini-vacation/weekend getaway, ALWAYS Go.

3) I could eat crawfish, beignets, and shrimp po’boys everyday and I would be okay.

I had the most wonderful and well-needed mini-getaway in New Orleans and I reckon that I fell in love with a new city.  Ya’ll (see what I did there) already know that I have a deep love affair for Melbourne, Australia and Washington DC but New Orleans has just put itself in the mix.  Mardi Gras was clearly like nothing I have ever experienced before I am glad that I got to see some awesome parades, catch lots of beads and have such a bang up time with some close friends who I had not seen in far too long.  Although Nemo sucked and stranded buddy of BOOF, HugDoll, in Beantown, we tried to have enough fun for her too.  Most importantly, the bachelorette had an amazing weekend and that’s what it was really all about but really…can someone get me some more crawfish, please?

I will say that for the 50 hours that I was in New Orleans, I ate like a fat kid.  And guess what, I am OKAY with that.  When you eat clean essentially everyday, you don’t feel bad rewarding yourself every once in a while.  And have no fear, as soon as I touched down in NY, it was back to the cold and back to business.

This was something I made way back when I was consuming pasta every once in a while.  Yeah, now I don’t really eat pasta but this is definitely a healthy and tasty option for my friends who do!

Adapted from Fitness Magazine 

Ingredients 

8 ounces dried fettuccine or linguine (whole wheat, even BETTA!)

8 ounces asparagus, (about 10 spears) trimmed and cut into 1-1/2-inch pieces

2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms (a mix of your choice– i used white and baby bella)

1/2 cup chopped onion

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/3 cup vegetable broth or water

1/4 cup half-and-half

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 cup chopped plum tomatoes

1 tablespoon chopped basil

Directions 

1) Cook fettuccine or linguine according to package directions.

2) adding asparagus the last 1 to 2 minutes of cooking; drain.

3) Return pasta mixture to saucepan; cover and keep warm.

4) Meanwhile, in a large skillet cook mushrooms, onion, and garlic in oil over medium-high heat for 4 to 5 minutes or until most of the liquid is evaporated.

5) Stir in broth, half-and-half, salt, and black pepper. Bring to boiling. Boil gently, uncovered, for 4 to 5 minutes or until mixture is slightly thickened.

6) Stir in tomatoes, basil and heat through.

7) Spoon the mushroom mixture over pasta mixture; toss gently to coat.

8) Share and Enjoy!

Nutrition 

Per serving (4)

Calories 284; Total Fat 6.7 g; Total Carbs 42.9 g; Protein 13.6 g; Dietary Fiber 8.5g

This was really tasty and I think if I cheat again with some pasta soon, this might be the dish that I make or an oldie but goodie, my Asparagus and Goat Cheese Pasta. Nom.

Leave a Reply

