Sweet Potato Pancakes


Sweet Potato Pancakes

I pretty much love cooking clean.  Although I am only about 80 % Paleo (I love peanut butter, popcorn, quinoa and beans), cooking paleo-ish and gluten-free has really made me super happy.  I love being able to create something delicious and not feel guilty about eating it.  This especially rings true for my favorite meal of the day, breakfast.

Although my breakfasts have usually always been healthy, I get semi-frequent hankerings for pancakes and french toast.  I have not discovered what I am going to do with the french toast thing, but I have been whipping up some awesome pancake recipes utilizing my new found loves of almond flour and coconut flour.  Pancakes are an easy way to get that first or second meal of the day in and actually feel filled for those two hours before your next meal.  I will say that mastering the consistency of paleo/gluten-free pancakes is pretty difficult because there are a lot of eggs involved to keep the pancakes from falling apart.  I ran into this difficulty while trying to whip up some banana nut pancakes for Bf of BOOF, BrickWall, but more on that another day.  Needless to say, it was an epic fail.  However, there are just some keys I have learned to making successful paleo/gluten-free pancakes and guess what, I am going to share them with you!

1) Thick batter doesn’t mean dense inedible pancakes– The dense flour scares me.  I’m used to nice smooth and runny batter, so when I finally accepted that this was not going to be the case, I was able to no longer fear cooking a heavier batter.

2) Cooking the pancakes takes a wee bit more time.  Patience is the key my friends.  I was so used to putting the batter in the pan and then literally one minute later when it started to bubble, flipping it over.  Yeah, that won’t work here.  You can expect to cook each pancake on each side for about 3-5 minutes (depending on the recipe and consistency of the batter).  So be patient, and your pancakes won’t fall apart. Promise.

3) You may not see the bubbles. Pretty much that’s it.  Don’t count on seeing those bubbles, but you will be able to see as the pancakes begins to cook.

4) Pray.  Always. Pray.

So one day I decided that I would take pretty much my favorite vegetable and whip it up into some pancakes.  So I did. And it was glorious.  And you should make these tomorrow.  Yes, I know it is a Monday but I am switching things up to say that good things happen on Monday mornings.

photo 1 (4)

Ingredients 

1 medium sweet potato

3/4 cup almond flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup almond milk

2 large egg whites, lightly beaten

2 whole eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 tsp. raw honey, agave nectar or stevia (optional)

1 tablespoon coconut oil

Directions 

1) Boil sweet potato for about 10-15 minutes until soft.  Remove, drain and slip off the peel (should come off easy peasy).

2) In a stand mixer (or using a hand mixer), mix/mash sweet potato until smooth and processed.

3) In a small bowl mix together flours, spices, eggs, egg whites and milk until smooth.  Add ingredients to stand mixer.  Mix well. Batter should be on the thick side.

4) Preheat a skillet on medium heat.

5) Add batter to pan for one medium sized pancake.  Cook on each side for about 3 minutes.

6) Remove from pan.  Repeat process until all that delicious batter is used up.

7) Share and Enjoy!

You can top these with some maple syrup, but I didn’t find that I needed it.  SUPER YUM YUM YUM.  You should make these….Today.  Why wait for tomorrow when you can make them today?  Right?

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pancakes

  1. Hi Kare-Bear! I made a recipe much like this several weeks ago, but without the coconut flour and with cow milk instead of almond milk. It was going great until I tried to flip the pancake, at which point it completely fell apart. Think brown scrambled eggs. Totally delish, but not the texture I was going for. I ended up adding about a quarter cup normal flour and they stuck together nicely. I was wondering if there is a gluten free way to make baked goods stick to themselves? btw, I heart you!

  2. Hey Tess! So good to hear from you dear! have realized that you really have to use a lot more eggs than you might think. Think about 3-4 eggs for every cup of coconut/almond flour. Coconut flour is super absorptive, so you really need those extra eggs (or even just a egg-white) to not only make the mix a little bit more wet but also help it stick together. Also, I mentioned previously about really letting them cook for 3-4 minutes on each side. I found that being patient with this is pretty much the key. However, make sure your pan is heavy though because you don’t want them to burn. Lastly, I try not to make them too big. I keep them between small-medium sized so that my spatula can easily get under the entire pancake. OH and Protein powder…I’m definitely into it! I put it in my smoothies and I am going start experimenting with putting a scoop in my pancakes, so I will keep you updated on how it goes! Lots of Love! Let me know how your next batch of pancakes turn out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

