Apple, Leek and Chickpea Salad

Apple, Leek and Chickpea Salad

Helloooo Friends!

So God is pretty amazing and I need to never let myself forget that.  It’s a little rough for me not being able to go to church on Sundays because of my crazy work schedule, and although I spend time reading my bible, praying and such daily…I really definitely miss that community of fellowship.  Nevertheless, God is amazing and even when I feel like he’s not there, he always has my best interest at heart.

Ok. Now about the food.  This was a little dish that I tweaked a couple of months ago when participating in Hey Fran Hey’s January challenge.  For those of you who do not check out Fran’s blog or facebook, you should definitely get on it because she is always giving some fantastic advice about all natural and super healthy stuff. Always.  She’s the bomb.com.

Yup, I just did that. No biggie.  So, Fran partnered with Jason from Jason’s Bites to give us a recipe a week highlighting a certain super food and for this week it was Leeks.  Now, I think I have mentioned before how certain random foods scare me and leeks was one of those foods for a while.  They no longer scare me but I do not really cook with them often but this recipe looked pretty great and super simple so I was down to give it a go.  Leeks are packed with Vitamins K, A, B and C so they pack a nice little punch!  Now, I will say that I had never not cooked my leeks but this recipe called for it (although I missed the note at the end saying that you might want to saute them), but if you like super oniony things then this would be right down your aisle.  However, the second time around, I would definitely saute or blanch them because they literally almost burned my nostrils out.  Yeah. That was awesome.

Adapted from Jason’s Bites

Ingredients 

1 small/medium sized apple (I recommend something sweeter…like Gala)

3 small/medium sized leeks, whites and light green parts only

1/4 cup olive oil

Juice of 1 lemon

Salt & pepper

2 teaspoons dijon mustard

2 teaspoons honey

1.5 tablespoons of greek yogurt

1 cup chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

Directions 

1) Trim your leeks, slice thin, rinse well and drain.

2) Meanwhile, slice an apple as thinly as possible.

3) ***Saute leeks over medium heat in 1 teaspoon olive oil or coconut oil *** optional for about 3-4 minutes.  Remove from heat.

4) Toss leeks and apples into a large bowl and put the juice of half a lemon on top to prevent any browning.  Let them sit for a bit to let the flavors melt together.

5) Make the dressing: In a small bowl, mix together the olive oil, salt, pepper, other half of the lemon, dijon, and honey.

6) Add chickpeas to bowl containing leeks and apple and when well incorporated, mix in the yogurt and dressing.  Mix well!

7) Share and Enjoy!

This was simple and delicious and I am grateful to both Hey Fran Hey and Jason Bites for the awesome recipe!  I used chickpeas for my protein but Jason used toasted Pecans which I also think would be super delicious.

Leave a Reply

