Blueberry Protein Bars

Blueberry Protein Bars

It’s been way too long.  I wish I could say that I will be better but my schedule is just ridiculous, so I know that it’s just not going to happen until mid/end of August.  Yup.

Things: June is my Veggieversary! Wow.  I am honestly amazed that I have been a vegetarian for FOUR years (yes, I consider myself a vegetarian even though I eat seafood…what ya going to do about it!). Holy moly.  That is a long time.  It is still amusing that I have friends and family members that still forget (I’m used to it so it aint no thang), but I do love how so many more restaurants, grocery stores and just the world in general has begun to make increasing accommodations and options for people who choose to eat in an alternate way whether it be vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free…etc.  Our health is a critical issue and I am happy to see more people stepping up to the plate to account for it.

So let me tell you. I really haven’t been baking and this makes me sad.  That being said, my goal for July is to bake more.  Yes, it’s the hottest month of the year, and I will be creating delicious healthy treats in the kitchen. It’s happening.

Here is the first diddly do. Make these bars.  They’re good. You like protein? Yeah, me too.  You don’t like protein? Omit and you will be just as fine.  🙂

Ingredients 

2 Cups Oat Flour

3/4 cups egg whites

1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup Mott’s natural apple sauce, no sugar added

1 scoop Designer Whey Vanilla (optional)

1/3 cup xylitol

1/4 cup stevia

*** OR just 1/2 cup stevia and no xylitol

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh)

Directions 

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

2) Lightly grease 9 x 13 baking sheet with coconut oil (or oil of your choice)

3) In a large bowl, combine egg whites, flour, almond milk apple sauce, and vanilla.

4) In a small bowl, sift together spices, baking powder and baking soda.

5) Combine all ingredients together and fold in whey (if using) and blueberries (gently).

6) Pour into baking dish and bake for 15-18 minutes until toothpick comes out cleanly.

7) Remove. Cool. Share and Enjoy!

I ate this pan in about a week and it was every bite was more scrumptious than the last.  I recommend refrigerating in an air tight container to keep it fresh.  Oh. and microwaving them and drinking with a cup of tea and coffee….YES PLEASE.

Summer (clean) baking has commenced.

Leave a Reply

