Shrimp and “Grits”

Happy Monday Beautiful Friends!

After a weekend of working, I was given today off and I am so grateful to have a little time to catch up on life!

This was one of those dishes that I had planned in my head for some time, and semi-recently got around to making it and now I am finally getting around to posting it. This was my take on a southern classic of fish and grits, but I cleaned it up and made it my own.

I am in the beginning stages of planning an e-book of sorts and this dish will most likely be included! I am going to keep more details or the book secret for now, but I will soon divulge some more information!

A great thing about this dish is that each part of the dish can be used for alternate recipes if for some reason you aren’t a seafood eater or you don’t particularly enjoy cauliflower.

Ingredients

1 head of cauliflower

2 tablespoons of nonfat Greek yogurt

2 oz goat cheese

1 cup uncooked cleaned shrimp

Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle Seasoning ***or any Cajun seasoning

Garlic powder

Onion powder

Sea Salt

1 tablespoon coconut oil/olive oil

Directions

1) In a large frying pan, bring approximately 4 cups of water to a boil.

2) Rinse and chop up cauliflower into smaller pieces.

3) Steam in boiling water for about 10-12 minutes until tender. Sprinkle with a touch of salt and pepper.

4) While the cauliflower is cooking, in a medium bowl, combine shrimp, seasonings and olive oil and mix well until all the shrimp are well coated. Set aside.

5) Remove and drain cauliflower and transfer into a food processor or blender.

6) Add yogurt and goat cheese to blender and pulse cauliflower until well puréed. * If you’re purée is still chunky, add some more yogurt.

7) In a small sauce pan over medium heat, sauté shrimp until translucent, about 3-5 minutes on each side.

8) Take some of your “grits” and top with shrimp.

9) Share and Enjoy!

I really loved this dish and I’m thinking about heading to the store now to get some shrimp now! I used an herbed goat cheese and I found that it beautifully complemented the heat from the shrimp. I think I also seasoned my shrimp with an additional touch of cayenne because I loveeee the spicy. Quick and simple dinner under 30 minutes!

20131118-091341.jpg

Leave a Reply

