Seafood Soup

seafood soup

Hi Beautiful Friends,

We have been getting pummeled with snow storms left and right so aside from my go to Sweet Potato Veggie Chili, I created this Seafood Soup to help get me through these rough winter months.  It was spicy, protein packed and absolutely scrumptious and I definitely have a new fantastic winter soup to make year in and year out.

Oh. And I also just want to say Thank You.  It would appear that with every post I make, I get more and more subscribers and I could not feel more humbled by all the love that you all show me.  I started this blog as a sort of food and adventure diary (I plan to start sharing more adventures soon as well!), and it has morphed into be making delicious and not-so-healthy things to delicious and healthy things.  Thank you for reading, thank you for sharing and thank you for being such wonderful people who read the food ramblings of this girl.  Love.

Ingredients 

2 cans (14.5 oz) Diced Tomatoes ***I like to use the different seasoned ones but with *No salt added*

1 1/2 cup chopped carrots

1 cup chopped celery

2 minced garlic cloves

1 red onion, diced

1 bell pepper, diced

1 cup organic low sodium vegetable broth (Does not have to be organic)

1 package mussel meat (can be found in your seafood section)

1 cup bay scallops

1 lb Swai fish (or any fish that your heart desires)

2 cups water

2 teaspoons cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon cumin

2 teaspoons Sriracha

salt and pepper to taste

Directions 

*I made this in the slow cooker, but you can also just make it in a large dutch oven over medium heat.

1) Add cans of tomatoes to pot/slow cooker.  Slowly begin to simmer and bring to a boil (i like to put my slow cooker on high just to get things bubbling).

2)  Add in garlic, onions, peppers, broth and water to pot.  Let it continue to boil.  Add in carrots and celery.

3) Add in seasonings (everything except the Sriracha) and let the flavor continue to deepen (in a slower cooker, you want to let all of these ingredients cook in for about 30-35 minutes.

4) After taking a quick taste making sure your flavors are perfect (as they should be), add in fish and scallops.  Let cook for about 15 minutes and then add in mussel meat.  Let it continue to cook for another 15-20 minutes.

5) Check broth and adjust flavor accordingly.  I would add my sriracha in at this point.  Let it continue to simmer and do occasional taste tests.  When perfect (shouldn’t take much), remove from heat.

6) Share and ENJOY!

Delicious, hearty and protein packed.  Love.

Leave a Reply

