Apple Skillet Cake

Apple Skillet Cake

Everyday I like to tell myself that I am an adult.  I like to tell myself that because I pay bills, I go to work, I dress professionally, I eat healthy, I cook, I clean, and I carry myself like a certified big kid.  However, everyday, I usually do at least one or two things that make me think that I am not quite an adult.  Certain things like failing to have any actual dollars in my wallet, waiting until my gas light comes on before putting gas in my tank, procrastinating on Thank You cards and leaving the occasional dirty dish in my room.  Nevertheless, once in a while, I do something that makes me know that I am most definitely an adult.  Yesterday, I changed my own headlight.  Although my headlight had been out for two days and I prayed fervently that I would not get pulled over, I finally popped my hood and figured how to replace my headlight.  It actually was extremely easy and I felt almost silly for having it take me so long to replace, but I did feel some degree of satisfaction knowing that I did not take my car to the autorepair or have the dudes at autozone replace it for me.  I definitely filled my adult certification quota for the whole month. Win.

You know what also always make me know that I am an adult? Cooking and baking adult like meals and goods.  This cake is definitely an adult goody and can definitely earn you some adult points for the month.

Oh, but this cake definitely does not earn you many health points.  This is neither lite or paleo or gluten-free or vegan or anything resembling something healthy but it is oh so delicious. And simple.

Adapted from Joy the Baker 

Ingredients 

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom

3/4 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup white sugar

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3/4 cup buttermilk

3 or 4 apples, sliced into thin rounds and cored (I used an assortment)

1/4 cup sugar and 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon for topping

photo 1 (1)

Directions 

1)  Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 375  degrees F.

2)  Grease and flour the bottom and sides of an 9-inch  cast iron skillet (or other oven-proof dish or cake pan). ***I used a regular cake pan and it came out fine

3)  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt.  Set aside.

4) In the bowl of an electric stand mixer, fitted with a paddle attachment, beat butter sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

5) Add egg and yolk, beating for 1 minute between each addition.  Beat in the vanilla extract.

6) With the mixer on low, add half of the flour mixture.

7)  Add the buttermilk and when flour is just combined with the butter mixture, add the remaining flour.  Beat on low speed until most of the flour has disappeared into the mixture.

8)  Remove the bowl from the mixer and fold in last of the ingredients with a spatula.  Spoon batter into prepared pan and spread evenly.

9)  Top generously with sliced apples and cinnamon-sugar.

10) Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

11) Serve cake warm, with coffee of tea…and a dollop of vanilla ice cream if you so choose (I Choose yes)!

***Cake can be wrapped in an airtight container and stored in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

12) Share and Enjoy!

I would tell you when I actually made this cake, but if I told you that I would be ridiculously embarrassed but just know that it went over very well and I only had one slice to bring home.  I really liked it because it wasn’t too sweet, and I definitely recommend using a tarter apple to also balance the flavor.  And this is a prefect breakfast or dinner cake.  Love.

photo 4 (1)

 

3 thoughts on “Apple Skillet Cake

    • Correction: That’s a really good idea for a breakfast cake! (sorry it posted too fast for me to correct my grammer) haha

Leave a comment